We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gorgeous and memorable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I brought my girlfriend here for a surprise weekend, and it was a perfect place for her to become my fiance! We stayed in the carriage house, which was beautiful and really felt like a home. The decor is truly amazing and the location is unbeatable, right on the Battery. We loved the homemade treats left by the innkeeper and had a magical weekend. I would recommend this b&b to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The carriage house is definitely worth it if you can snag it. Tons of space and a beautiful buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoolan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at 21 East Battery B and B for our honeymoon and it was so romantic! The quarters we stayed in were full of character and clean, and there was a fireplace in each room! The Inn Keeper was very friendly and made sure to have complimentary breakfast and goodies in the kitchenette area every day. We loved staying here and recommend it to all couples that want a romantic getaway in Charleston!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We took my brother and sister in laws on their first visit to Charleston and stayed here. Everything was perfect starting with the check in and orientation with Julie. Her homemade treats and knowledge of the area sites are second to none. The location couldn't be better on the historic battery within walking distance to everything. I highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Kudos to the people at 21 East Battery for a wonderful stay! I couldn't imagine a more fantastic location - the heart of the Battery in the most amazing city. With the fresh-baked treats, a baby grand piano, wireless Internet, delicious quiches each morning, elegant decor and more space than I could ever need - this very well could be the best value in all of Charleston. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my second stay in the Quarters and it won't be my last! This is truly a special place whose location can't be beat if you want to be in Charleston's historic district. The B&B is a unique place - beautiful, private, spacious and comfortable. I can't say enough positive things about Julie the innkeeper . She is caring and helpful as well as being a fabulous cook & baker! I've stayed elsewhere in Charleston but this is my absolute favorite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We love repeat guests, new guests, all guests! We certainly do have a star within Julie Lucas here at 21 East Battery. Pair that along with fantastic harbor views, off-street parking and an option for a cooked to order breakfast on the piazza (or a private one in your room) and you can simply state star power all the way around! Thank you guest for sharing your insights with potential guests and we look forward to hosting you at 21 East B&B again soon! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wonderful place to stay, Julie is so helpful, the location is right by the ocean in the historical district so we never needed a car. I will definitely stay there again. There are many restaurants nearby. Perfect jogging path along the ocean and close to the Battery.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTripForGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently stayed in the Carriage House for 5 nights, and it was like a dream come true. I have never felt more at home than I did here. The house is very spacious, comfortable and remarkable. Set back in from the street, it was very quiet and private. We loved having our own living space and off-street parking. The location is perfect, we were in walking distance of everything in downtown Charleston. Julie, the innkeeper, is fantastic. There are no words to describe her hospitality. She made our stay absolutely perfect. We loved her baked treats and delicious breakfasts - it was so nice to be able to eat breakfast when we felt like it! She kept our fridge stocked and always made sure we had everything we needed. I don't think I accurately describe how much I absolutely loved this place - it is worth every penny. I honestly can't see staying anywhere else on future trips to Charleston.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is wonderful, spacious and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylinedriveby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,437 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
The Restoration
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Property: 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery b&b
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing