We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast. The accomodations were fabulous. The location is also unbeatable. Our innkeeper was so hospitable and friendly, not to mention an excellent cook! Also, be sure to take the Edmonston-Alston home museum tour during your stay. This is a perfect getaway for couples. It was hard to leave, but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliN0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 275 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

We're from Northern California, and stayed 4 nights at this wonderful B & B during our first trip to the South. Loved everything about it......most especially the beautiful location behind the Edmondston-Alston House. Very private with beautiful views out of every window. Julie Lucas has to be the best innkeeper in all of South Carolina! She warmly welcomed us when we arrived and provided great tips on attractions and dinning in Charleston. Her home baked muffins, cookies and cake were excellent and the fridge was stocked daily with cut up fresh fruit, parfaits, and wonderful egg casseroles. We loved it that we could eat at our leisure. A great location with parking on site. You can walk to great restaurants and shopping. We stayed in many high end B & B properties and this one ranks up at the top. It's an A+.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mns70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just spent three days in Charleston and couldn't have chosen a better B&B option. Julie greeted us when we pulled in as if we had known her all our lives. She is a great cook, and her banana cake was a treat all weekend (not just for breakfast)! As noted in previous reviews, breakfast is pre-stocked in your room, so it's yours as early or late as you like. You can also make coffee or tea any time. We don't have a strong desire to eat breakfast with strangers, so this was perfect for us and allowed us to eat before leaving very early to catch our flight. You can't come to Charleston without loving the history and we not only "lived it" in the "quarters" room, but walked everywhere from this location on the battery. As guests, we really appreciated complimentary tickets to tour the Edmondston-Alston House. Thanks, Julie!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoverTheWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We are a local couple who stayed here for a night out on the town. We were very impressed with the quality of the lodgings and the bedding, how big the bedrooms and bathrooms were in the Quarters, and how completely pristine and clean the place was kept. The location is first-rate: right on the Battery and with a view of the water and Fort Sumter. PLUS, guests can use the patio area of the Edmonston-Allston museum, which is on the same property as the B&B, when the museum closes at 1700 and before it opens again in the morning. The museum's patio is that much closer to the Battery wall and the water, so it's a great amenity. The most amazing surprise to us, though, was the perfect hospitality of the innkeeper, Julie. She is exactly the right combination of helpful and welcoming, and then leaves you to enjoy the overwhelming amenities of the property and fabulous items she has cooked for you, and stocked in the fridge. Perfect hospitality is a rare and true art. I have already rebooked the exact same place for an upcoming girls' weekend. My husband and I have stayed in many downtown Charleston hotels and one well-known bed and breakfast. This one really surpasses them all, on every level. It's great for a couple, couples traveling together, and families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmacneil2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I (from Philadelphia), along with another couple (from Chicago), stayed at 21 East Battery B&B for four wonderful days and nights April 10-13. Great B&B, two large second floor BRs and two large BAs, along with warm, inviting living room on first floor. Our hostess, Julie, made us wonderful breakfasts (delivered to our kitchen each afternoon for the next day) -- egg casseroles, blueberry muffins, cookies, etc., which were all excellent. Would go back there again and again when we visit Charleston. Great historical location and history for this B&B...within a short walking distance to historical sites, shopping, restaurants, and bars. Loved the outdoor market area, horse carriage tour, and three-mast schooner tour. Wonderful overall trip thanks to 21 East Battery B&B, our hostess Julie, and the nice people of Charleston!

Room Tip: 21 East Battery B&B is very close to historical "downtown" area and bay, which is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdLPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

From 21 E Battery you can walk to all the interesting sights in Charleston. And the B &B is across the street from the Battery. At the same time you are in a private, serene.garden setting. The B & B is inviting and maintained to a high standard. Julie, the Innkeeper, provides a warm welcome followed by gracious service, delicious breakfasts and treats. This was our 3rd visit. We'll be back in 2013.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katmatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Location was perfect as it was located right on the battery for a great view. It literally is a half mile walk from anywhere in downtown Charleston. Julie the Innkeeper was fabulous! Her breakfast quiches and baked goods hit the spot. The rave reviews on tripadvisor were right on! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 39 in Charleston
490 reviews
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $395 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing