We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$234
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$239
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$239
$219
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
268
9
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housequicheslave quartersbaby grand pianoentire houseplace to stayoff street parkingthe main housefirst floorb and bliving roomwithin walking distancewalked everywherethe location is perfectromantic getawaywonderful weekendpark your car
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 280 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

From our inkeeper's warm welcome, to her equally warm wish for a safe journey home, we were made to feel quite special for this birthday celebration weekend. The homemade "goodies" were a lovely way to start each day. A complimentary tour through the Edmonston-Alston Museum was a nice bonus, and the fireplace in the cozy atmosphere of the quarters made it "home away from home." Do be careful on the stairs going up, however! They are narrow and a bit slippery, but lead to an absolutely lovely, spacious bedroom with a fireplace and beautiful, large bathroom adjoining. There is also another bedroom/bathroom, but it was locked so we could enjoy sole use of the quarters for the weekend. The location, behind the historic house in a quaint courtyard area, made it perfect for a quiet weekend celebration. Our innkeeper was not only a gracious hostess, but also a wonderful source of information regarding the lovely city of Charleston. We would highly recommend 21 East Battery B & B for any special celebration or getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam54281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

If you're looking for a fabulous location, 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast is perfect - right in the middle of Charleston's beautiful historic district and easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants. We stayed in the Quarters and the bedrooms were bright, airy and tastefully furnished with antiques. The included parking place was a bonus as parking in that area of town might otherwise be a challenge.

For the cons, the little downstairs sitting room featured a gas fireplace, but lacked comfortable seating for four people. And, if you're expecting a hot, gourmet breakfast you'll be disappointed. Breakfast here consisted of muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice - certainly adequate, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharrell545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Quarters at 21 East Battery provided the perfect place for a weekend away with friends. The den was a great place to sit and visit in front of the fire. The two bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, comfortable, and lovely. The porch of the Edmondston-Alston house has a wonderful view of the water and puts you in easy walking distance of fabulous restaurants and area attractions. The accommodations would be ideal for a family or couples traveling together as well. The highlight of the stay, though, was the Innkeeper. She welcomed us as if we were family, baked delicious cookies for our arrival, and had every detail covered. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed yourself! TripAdvisor has been a great help in getting customer reviews out to potential guests, so thank you for sharing yours! Abigail Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Everything was phenomenal including the staff! I highly recommend the quarters for a romantic getaway with your significant other!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We recently stayed in the Carriage House. The accommodations were over the top, lots of room and a balcony with a water view (great place to sip a glass of wine). Breakfast was in the frig, ready whenever you were. The location was perfect, walking distance to all attractions. You can park your car and leave it. The Inn Keeper (Julie) was informative and there whenever you needed information. She made sure you had plenty of food and a variety for all tastes. We travel to B&B's regularly and this is one of the best!

Room Tip: Carriage House is several rooms, could sleep more that 2 easily.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetAB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you for your time in filling out a review guest, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast! The Carriage House can indeed sleep more then two adults. With the addition of a sleeper sofa in the upstairs living area we can accommodate a total of four adults. As you noted, there is plenty of space both upstairs and downstairs to accommodate you, and with the off-street parking (In Charleston-WOW!), deluxe breakfast prepared by Julie and complimentary admission to the Edmondston-Alston House; it’s the best deal around! We hope to welcome you back again! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews