We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Al Miller is the best”
Review of Gullah Tours

Gullah Tours
Ranked #38 of 223 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On our GULLAH TOUR we give an interesting glimpse into an ancient culture of these mysterious people descending from way across da water. Gullah people are the direct blood descendants of the slaves brought to the Lowcountry regions of South Carolina and Georgia; including both the coastal plain and the Sea Islands. These peculiar people were brought to Charleston by way of cargo slave ships. Charleston held the largest slave market in the United States where the Gullah culture & language continues this very day.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Al Miller is the best”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Mr. Miller is one of the best tour guides going. It was so informative and entertaining! He is so helpful and direct. We even got to meet a gullah person. We saw the grave site of the person who inspired the opera "Porgy and Bess"; we saw the first AA free school and visited the isles where their homes are. It was great and very informative. I would do again. Love it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thehermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    49
    10
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Informative and funny”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide Alphonso was funny and very informative, the tour is motorized and focused on a iron maker. I wished there was an opportunity to learn more about the Gullah people and how they lived.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suggadumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for Geeks”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved hearing history from a non-caucasian point of view.

Would have loved to have spent more time at Simmons house but given that we only had 2 hours to cover such a large topic it was definitely well done.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dancer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was so exciting about this trip... I learned so much from Mr. Brown. I went out and bought the book...

I wish we had more time to learn from him

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CharleesCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very knowledgable”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Guide was extremely knowledgable and personable. Would have been nice to make at least one more stop (only made 1) for photos op.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctheworld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullah Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gullah Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing