We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cocktails and atmosphere! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Social Restaurant + Wine Bar - CLOSED

Social Restaurant + Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Pizza, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumberland & Queen
Description: Offering Charleston’s largest selection of wines by the glass, Social has become the preeminent wine bar of Charleston. Social is housed in a nineteenth century warehouse and features a stunning four-thousand bottle display cellar. Complementing its extensive wine selection, Social serves modern American cuisine.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and atmosphere! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I went with a few friends and sat at the bar. I loved the atmosphere, bartenders, and drink menu! The wine flights were loved by all. Great prices too!

I would recommend this place in the early evening if you are looking for a casual bar as it tends to get crowded with standing room only after 7:30pm on the weekends.

Overall, excellent service and a memorable experience! I will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank HeatherSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    103
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Fantastic happy hour food prices - delicious selection! Drinks - $4.00! Can't beat this place! Individual wine tastings! Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C2J4H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“eclectic wine selection, knowledgable staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

As amateur vinophiles, my wife and I enjoy the efforts made to offer wines out of the ordinary - especially in the South where cheap beer and liquor tends to be the libations of choice. Social had a nice list and some wonderful flights. They made the attempt to educate without being snooty, and their staff was knowledgable about the wines they were pouring. What more can you asks for? Oh, yeah. The pizzas were really good too. We enjoyed our tasting there so much we went back again the following night for another taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uncleBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

It all starts with service.....two hour visit in the bar area that provided wait service. We saw our waitress 3 times during our time there.

We had to go to the bar and order our drinks, this after the waitress introduced herself and disappear into the night.

Came extremely close to walking without paying because we could not get the waitress to deliver us a bill.

They should have dedicated servers for the bar area instead of splitting the dinning room customer with the bar customers.

The wine was FANTASTIC and the value was GREAT - service was BAD

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of our new Charleston faves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second visit. The first time we sat at the bar and just had a late night snack and wine. This time we wanted to try a full meal and we weren't disappointed. I love that almost all the wines are available by the half glass, full glass or bottle, and they offer about a dozen or more wine flights, so you can have sort of a mini wine tasting with your meal. I had flat iron steak and my husband had the sea bass and both were off the chain delicious. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mingoleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing