We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, Tasty, Casual”
Review of Social Restaurant + Wine Bar - CLOSED

Social Restaurant + Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Pizza, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumberland & Queen
Description: Offering Charleston’s largest selection of wines by the glass, Social has become the preeminent wine bar of Charleston. Social is housed in a nineteenth century warehouse and features a stunning four-thousand bottle display cellar. Complementing its extensive wine selection, Social serves modern American cuisine.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Funky, Tasty, Casual”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We loved the atmosphere at Social. The wine bar is full of local art, and has a very fun, unique layout. The wine selection goes on and on, and the staff is very knowledgeable. We had a very tasty thin crust pizza and an enjoyable casual night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coldcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    103
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the fact that they were able to do a la carte pizza and it was fabulous!!!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely go back and the service was great. The wine flight was great and they had a good variety.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayraRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Meal & Atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Social was recommended to my husband and I during our trip in Charleston. Although, a little pricey, the food and service did not disappoint!

We shared the mussels as an appetizer and they were so very good! I ordered the swordfish and it was extremely flavorful and cooked just right. My husband ordered the sauteed Carolina shrimp, which was bursting with flavor! The sauce added a nice touch and really complemented the dish! A friend had the scallops and they were cooked perfectly! We will definitely return here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hot spot...literally. I was sweating.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I came here at the suggestion of a friend who lives in Charleston and I wasn't disappointed. We got there in time for happy hour which was a pretty good deal. We were seated upstairs near some very interesting local art. However it was very warm and I ended up sweating quite a bit. The downstairs seating was cooler. The food was tasty...and the service was great. I had pork two ways as my entree and it was good. I would definitely come back but might wear shorts instead of jeans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place for apps”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently visited Social and were pleased. The decor is fanciful and fun. I had a flight (sample) of three red wines and my wife had a flight of whites. We also shared a couple of appetizers which were very good. The wines were very good and affordable, and the apps were very good as well. The service was pretty good. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing