We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food without breaking your budget”
Review of Social Restaurant + Wine Bar - CLOSED

Social Restaurant + Wine Bar
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumberland & Queen
Description: Offering Charleston’s largest selection of wines by the glass, Social has become the preeminent wine bar of Charleston. Social is housed in a nineteenth century warehouse and features a stunning four-thousand bottle display cellar. Complementing its extensive wine selection, Social serves modern American cuisine.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food without breaking your budget”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A pleasant spot on East Bay St. that offers good food and service at reasonable prices. It was a slow weeknight when I ate there, so it wasn't packed and noisy as I've seen at times. They offer half glasses of wine, a nice touch. Dessert was a huge piece of chocolate peanut butter pie, which really deserved to be shared. A good spot for a casual, yet very good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindajwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    103
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool place, wine flights”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I walked into Social for dinner one night on a whim. The atmosphere was rather posh and trendy. We were sat right away and the staff was very pleasant throughout our dinner. I had heard of beer flights but they offered wine flights to allow you to try different wines without ordering a whole glass or bottle. This helped since they had a great selection and it was hard to choose. It came with 3 small glasses of different wines in frozen marble holders. The food was ok but this would be a better place to grab some drinks and an appetizer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a drink”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stopped by for a pre-dinner drink on a Sunday afternoon. The wine was really good and the staff clearly knows what they're talking about. Cool atmosphere, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terps122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Must visit when downtown Charleston”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What an outstanding experience at Social. This was my first visit to downtown Charleston and peers I spoke with all had their best of. Most of it seafood or BBQ. Not options for me as a vegetarian. I chose Social on a referral from the sales director of the hotel I was staying at. And she was spot on.

I sat at the bar and had a perfect spot. The bartenders were prompt, polite and knowledgeable. I worked my way through a fabulous wine list with a huge selection by the glass. A+ for any restaurant to have such a diverse selection of wines by the glass. I sampled a rose from France, a white from Slovenia and a pinot from Washington State just to name a few. I opted for several small plates and aimed for leftovers which was a perfect plan.

The jasmine rice balls with coconut shavings and red curry sauce were spot on. Excellent blend of flavors and textures. I also had the , seasonal bruschetta. This one had English peas, pickled mushrooms and chevre. Wonderful blend of flavors. This was followed by the mepkin abbey mushrooms with a crispy poached egg and buerre rouge. The egg was the star and brought all the flavors together. If anything slightly disappointed it was the bianco pizza. Nice, thin crust but with a smattering of the fennel, brie, apples and caramelized onions. There was barely enough topping for a slice, let alone a whole pizza. Everything served its purpose as lunch the next day.

Among the many recommended dining establishments, this deserves a visit…or two.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Girly Night Out”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Perfect for a girls night out. Great atmosphere and decent drink prices by Charleston standards. The pizza was out of control good and 1 was big enough to split with 3 people...well 3 smaller women. Be warned: crazy amount of bachelorette parties on Saturday nights... I'm talking 7 separate tables of bachelorette parties. Take that knowledge to your advantage in whatever way it suits you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KHervey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing