We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for wine and food”
Review of Social Restaurant + Wine Bar - CLOSED

Social Restaurant + Wine Bar
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumberland & Queen
Description: Offering Charleston’s largest selection of wines by the glass, Social has become the preeminent wine bar of Charleston. Social is housed in a nineteenth century warehouse and features a stunning four-thousand bottle display cellar. Complementing its extensive wine selection, Social serves modern American cuisine.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for wine and food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very popular place with delicous food and wine. Great variety and you can order all sorts of interesting wine flights. Good service also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dms1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    103
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Vibe”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the atmosphere. Very hip and not stuffy. Good for kids/teens who might be bored in a more pretentious restaurant but still offers excellent food and wine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1020LCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not Much”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was there the spring of 2012, it was good, looked forward to going back. We were able to visit again in december and the place smelled like old beer, the food was unimaginative. we were truly disappointed and hungry when we left. (didn't eat much) Charleston has way too many food choices for us too go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank outadelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Geat place to grab a glass of wine”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great wine bar to stop in a get a drink. The atmosphere and feel to the bar is great for a drink with friends or a date. Right on the beaten path on east bay. Worth checking out.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Trendy”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were here for New Years Eve dinner and some wine...the wine by the glass selection is not very good. I don't consider myself a wine afficianado, but the selections were strange. My husband who is 50% Slovenian won't even drink wine from Slovenia, because they don't make good wine, but Social has one on their menu. Our table was on the second floor unfortunately one of us looked at a wall, and the other got to see the happenings going on on the first floor. Our table was wobbley and even after mentioning it to our server, it did not get fixed. We had the house made chips with blue cheese fondue. The first few bites are tasty and then it just gets too rich and overwhelming. Too much cheese--this coming from a Wisconsinite that LOVES cheese. Next salad of Fall Greens with pears and mustard seeds...it was ok, left a funny after taste, wouldn't have it again; Arugula And Fennel salad was a little better. Finally we opted for a specialty pizza instead of entrees, so we went with the Coq Au Vin--braised chicken, mushrooms, red onion and gruyere. Nope, tasted like barbeque chicken pizza...dang. My chardonnay, which I can not remember the name was funky tasting...it's the best way I can describe it. So, maybe we would try it again...but why when there are other places?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilly1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing