We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Social Restaurant + Wine Bar - CLOSED

Social Restaurant + Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Pizza, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumberland & Queen
Description: Offering Charleston’s largest selection of wines by the glass, Social has become the preeminent wine bar of Charleston. Social is housed in a nineteenth century warehouse and features a stunning four-thousand bottle display cellar. Complementing its extensive wine selection, Social serves modern American cuisine.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expensive.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stopped in for Happy Hour & found the place to be somewhat pretentious. Happy Hour price for draft beer is $4, but they also had $4 cocktails & wine, (glasses of wine we saw were very small), so we stayed for a few drinks. We did order the Margherita Pizza on the Happy Hour menu & it was very good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    103
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice wine!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Social has a great wine list and is a fun place to unwind. The atmosphere is nice for a solo visit, couples, and big groups of friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashpav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Went for pizza, pizza good, drinks not so great”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

M husband really wanted wood fired pizza for his birthday so we went to Social. The pizzas were very good, and we had fun, but the drinks and wine were disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We sat by the window in the bar overlooking the main street on a weekend afternoon and watched tourists walk by, sipping very reasonably priced house wine and ordered a yummy bruchetta and pizza. Both were nicely done. We enjoyed the meal very much.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hemanth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"ANTI - SOCIAL ". Robot Service.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were in for an early dinner but Slightly North of Broad (SNOB)wasnt opened for dinner yet so we went to this place to check it out. We are big wine drinkers. The atmosphere is quite sterile and lifeless. The bartendars are very robotic and zero personality. Not helpful in selecting wines at all. I did a red wine flight, that was alot to drink but not very good wine selection. I wouldnt go back here if it were the last bar standing. We hurried up to leave as the whole scene wasnt very good at all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Porsche911XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Restaurant + Wine Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing