We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could of stayed longer.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Danbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wish we could of stayed longer.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the carriage house room and it was ideal. We had a living area with kitchen downstairs and upstairs was the bedroom and bath. We walked to dinner the nights we ate in Charleston and only used the car when we went to Mount Pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for 4 days in the Carriage House at Lavender and Lace last week. It was lovely, clean, convenient, comfy, and cozy. Judy made us feel very welcome and gave an excellent introduction to the sites in Charleston. This is not a typical B & B - she delivers a continental breakfast the night before to your room. Although I love B&B's, I am not a big breakfast eater and way prefer this routine. This B & B is located south of Broad in a beautiful historic area and we walked to almost everywhere. If something was too far, there was a free trolley....not to mention the use of her free bikes!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms to this B&B. We stayed in the 2 story Carriage House and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjannotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was a great location that was in walking distance to the Battery, mansions, restaurants, etc. It was on a quiet residential street that gave you a feel for the history of Charleston,but had all the comforts of home.. It was enjoyable watching the carriages going down the street which added to the experience and we took many walks around the area (both day and night) to observe the variety of homes and architectural styles. This B&B gives you an opportunity to bring you back in time and see why Charleston is one of our favorite cities.

The breakfast was setup in the kitchen area of our room which enabled us to eat when it was convenient to our schedule. There were a wide variety of breakfast items including cookies and breads that we often eat when we returned at the end of the day.

Judy was a knowledgeable hostess that oftered insight into places to see, mansions/plantations to tour, places to eat and anything else you wanted to know about old Charleston. We would recommend Lavender and Lace to all our friends and it is very economical compared to other lodging in old Charleston. We sat at a table outside our room with a bottle of wine and enjoyed the tranquility of the area at the end of the day. We look forward to our return visit to Charleston and Lavender and Lace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drichabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My mom, sister, and I stayed at the B&B during March, 2014. We were in the front garden room, very spacious and quiet. Never heard our neighbors. Breakfast was tasty but simple which we preferred since the dining is superb in Charleston. The owner is very friendly and made effort to make sure we were comfortable and knew which sites to visit. The off-street parking is great though it's pretty narrow to back out of. We hope to come again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jssmith102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville NC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at Lavender and Lace during Easter week last year. A great location in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood. The first time we've stayed "south of Broad" in Charleston. An easy walk to all the historic sights in old Charleston. We had a spacious and comfortable suite. Breakfast goodies appeared as if by magic in our kitchen, along with other treats. Wonder innkeeper. I recommend this B&B highly.

Room Tip: We had the room at the front, but I'm sure they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved staying at Lavender and Lace, it was about 15 minutes walk into the centre of Charleston, in a lovely quiet area. There are bikes that you can use to cycle round Charleston on, which is a great way of spending a morning. The accommodation was far bigger than we expected, it had a sitting room, dining area, comfy bed, kitchen with washer and dryer which is great for when you are travelling. I would recommend Lavender and Lace to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarlowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Charleston and Lavender and Lace was the first stop for my wife and I on our recent trip to the US from Australia.

Located in a beautiful and quiet part of town, L&L was in easy walking distance of most attractions and was definitely great value compared to some of the other B&B's in Charleston.

We stayed in the Back Garden Room which was perfect for our stay. The room was particularly spacious and the breakfast provided in the room was more than ample.

Would definitely stay here again. Thanks Judy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarkkonieminen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
670 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast
Address: 136 Tradd St, Charleston, SC 29401-2418
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and be pampered. Welcome to this grand 1870's Victorian painted lady that has been lovingly restored to create the inviting ambience of past splendor and elegance. Fresh baked cookies and pastries abound. Located on a quite residential street in the heart of the Charleston Historic District. At the end of the day come home and relax in antique filled rooms or try our two story carriage house. Private baths and off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender And Lace Hotel Charleston
Lavender And Lace b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing