We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun local restaurant with friendly owner”
Review of Bluerose Cafe

Bluerose Cafe
Ranked #216 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun local restaurant with friendly owner”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have eaten here several times over the years and never really had a bad meal. This latest was on St Patrick's day dinner (we usually do lunch) and it was a PARTY. There was a crushing crowd...with reservations but we were fit in after a respectable wait and made to feel welcome (as usual). There was a live guitar player playing Irish tunes and mixing with the crowd (some in costume!)... Dinner was a prix fix with several choices...some from their regular menu and some specials. All were yummy... tho the deserts were average. It was a fun evening ( we ate outside), good if not excellent food, and a really neighborhood atmosphere... Service always good and friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stealtherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Brunch on Sunday morning! Gourmet quality”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had brunch at Bluerose Cafe twice on Sundays and both times it was really good. The french toast had an awesome flavor. The shrimp and grits were canjun flavored and yummy. The bread basket on our table had scones, biscuits and other types of breakfast bread that was wonderful and the orange juice was sweet, not acidic.. This was so good I would call it more gourmet than cafe'. The prices ranged from $7-$11 and was worth the cost for sure.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
“Delightful Cafe”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

While staying in West Ashley, my family and I stumbled on this quaint cafe. I was looking for a good, local place for breakfast and The Bluerose certainly fit the bill. The food was fresh and well prepared and the service was friendly and personal. I recommend the Irish Breakfast (2 eggs, morning potatoes, sausage, a rasher, black and white pudding and a fresh made scone). Paired with the fabulous Irish breakfast tea served in an antique teapot, it made a delicious and filling meal on a cold January morning. We returned for dinner which was similarly deliciously. The desserts are homemade and it shows! I only wish I could have tried the red velvet cake (they were out of it).

Will definitely go back when next I am in Charleston!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Neighborhood Cafe”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We got excellent service in the Bluerose. Decor was offbeat bright with vintage window frames hung within the large glass windows. There are a dozen tables for four and a short bar for seating. Menu was diverse; we had breakfast and stopped here 'cause it seemed to be the only restaurant on Ashley Blvd. Breakfast for two with coffee cost $17.00. If you're staying at the Holiday Inn west of the Ashley River you may want to consider this as a value stop and help out the local entrepreneurs.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truthseeker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“So-so food, good service”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Bluerose cafe is in a building that has housed several eating places from a Tastee Freeze to an Amberjacks to its present incarnation as the Bluerose cafe. The cafe is a popular breakfast and lunch diner that has served Charlestonians for 8 years now. Dinner is only served on the weekends, so this review must be taken in the context that dinners are not really their specialty. We visited the café on a weekend evening around 6ish. Shortly after we arrived the place started filling up attesting to its popularity. However we were somewhat surprised by this, as we found our dinners to be just average. The café is situated on a busy road. It has plenty of parking available and includes an outside dining area. Since this faces the busy St Andrews Blvd (Rte. 61) I would think it would be noisy most of the time. The building has large plate glass windows all around. On the inside of the windows they have hung old wooden 6 pane sash windows at an angle which makes for interesting décor. Some stained glass art is also hung which is made by a local artist and is for sale. The café highlights itself as an Irish type eatery and this motif is carried out by several Irish pictures and sayings displayed around the inside. Irish music at a nice level was playing throughout the evening.
There were several specials available but we opted for items off the regular dinner menu. The server came promptly with our drinks – a bottle of Guinness stout and some Barry’s Irish tea. The café offers beer and wine only – not a full-service bar. She also brought 2 small pieces of toasted rounds with melted cheese. While they were delicious we were surprised at the tiny quantity for 2 diners. I ordered the Shepherd’s Pie and my husband ordered the Fish and Chips. I also ordered a small Caesar salad as the Shepherd’s Pie order did not include any sides. The salad was fresh but the effect was ruined with the whole salad drenched in a Caesar dressing that was so tart I could hardly eat it. A lighter hand with the dressing and a little less lemon juice would have greatly improved this offering.
Our entrees were attractively served but fell really short of our expectations. The fish was fingerling shaped, lightly breaded and passable but not distinguished. We had expected something more in the line of the large fluffy pieces of fish the English and Irish serve instead of something more suitable to a fast-food restaurant or frozen food. The fries were not crisp. This entrée came with coleslaw as a side which was good – crunchy and fresh. The shepherd’s pie was a disappointment. The mashed potatoes were lumpy and had obviously been mashed with the potato skins still on. I am sure this was the plan but it is disconcerting to find long pieces of potato peel in your mashed potatoes. The ground beef had small garden peas and no other vegetables in it. My idea of shepherd’s pie is that usually carrots are included, maybe some celery or even an onion. This shepherd’s pie was flavorless and unappetizing.
We decided to try one of their desserts which are all made on the premises. We opted for the buttermilk pie which is a southern delicacy though I have also seen this several times in Pennsylvania in the Amish country. The pie had an undercooked crust, flavorless heavy custard filling and covered with whipped cream. Most terrific buttermilk pies are sweet and have a lovely golden top almost like a crème brûlée crust but this one was pale and uninviting.
As opposed to some other reviewers we found the service to be excellent, prompt and pleasant.
We might try this café again – for breakfast, but definitely not for dinner.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Augcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluerose Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bluerose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing