We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Italian Restaurant - Excellent For Special Occasions”
Review of Mercato - CLOSED

Mercato
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Upscale Italian Restaurant - Excellent For Special Occasions”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We made 7:30 dinner reservations for our 1st evening in Charleston and were pleasantly rewarded with a fine dining experience. They had a live jazz band that evening that provided enjoyable music for much of our dinner. Our server was very knowledgeable about the specials and the food on their menu. We were there with friends for a birthday dinner and informed the server we were in no rush. We all ordered a glass of wine and our appetizers. When our entrees were brought out, they were piping hot and everyone thought they were delicious. Their homemade Italian bread and pasta was especially good. The ambiance of this restaurant was nice and overall we had a very fantastic dining experience.

I definitely recommend this restaurant for a great Italian meal with an upscale flavor, although for me, it was a bit pricey, mostly driven up by our wine consumption. I especially recommended MERCATO for first timers to Charleston and special occasions, like ours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juddann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We truly appreciate your kind words and the fantastic recommendation. Our staff is always excited to assist in providing a memorable dining experience and we are honored that you selected Mercato to celebrate your special event. We are glad to hear that your group enjoyed the service, cuisine and the wonderful atmosphere. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    171
    44
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Caroina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quaint and delicious!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice quiet restaurant across from the market...I had Shrimp Scampi and 2 friends had the Lasagna recommended by the waiter - awesome!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcarolinenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the Local Shrimp Scampi and our delicious Seven Layer Lasagna. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Walking under an umbrella to the Market was easy from our hotel, Courtyard Historic. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and shown a table upstairs. Our waiter, Caleb, was attentive and knowledgable. Salads were fresh and the beets appetizer very good. The homemade mozzarella was a little grainy and too soft compared to others I've had. I wanted a veal marsala, not on the menu, but not a problem. Also asked for a tomato sauce on top of pasta instead of the marsala and again, easily accomplished. It was a large portion and excellent. My husband's veal parm was huge and tender. The other couple had casseroles of pasta topped with garlic breadcrumbs and they were pleased, too.
Dining room is attractive, we could hear the lovely jazz downstairs and noticed the lovely ceiling panels that absorbs noise.
Pricing was average, and surprisingly wines by the glass were priced well and a nice selection. It was a pleasant experience not to feel gouged for a glass.
I would suggest this restaurant to all who are looking for an Italian restaurant and desire something a little out of the ordinary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening at Mercato. Caleb and the other members of our staff are always ready to assist in accommodating our guests’ individual preferences and requests. Our beautiful Venetian décor and nightly live jazz truly create a wonderful atmosphere. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food... Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friends and I ate here on June 25th for dinner. The live music was good and the foodmwas excellent. We opted for appetizers since we were going out for drinks and desserts after. The cauliflower pancake with a brown butter sauce and lump crab meat was awesome. It was unique, filling, and so tasty. I would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supermomDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Mercato. The Cauliflower Pancake is a delicious and unique offering as well as one of our most popular appetizers. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and service, reasonably priced for downtown Charleston”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Three of us had dinner there last night. We sat upstairs and enjoyed our meal very much. We had 3 appetizers, the special was fried green tomato's with bitter greens, goat cheese and lump crab, it was a huge portion and fantastic. Another diner had the cauliflower pancake which was very unique and also very good. The last diner had calamari which were tubes vs rings simple and delicious.
Entrees were also very good, Scallops over risotto was excellent but not a large portion, if you are very hungry I would not order them. Chicken Marsala was huge and just a bit over done but it didn't take away from the flavor which was also very good. Lastly, I had the gnocchi which was potato based vs ricotta (which I usually like better) but, again fantastic dish and smothered in crumbled Italian sausage. This is also a huge portion and I could only eat about 1/3 of it, which worked out well for my husband who ordered the scallops and was eyeing my meal the entire time. Server Brenna was great without being annoying or hovering. Over all a very nice experience. We sat upstairs which worked out better as the first floor tends to get very loud when there is a Jazz band.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner. Our culinary team takes great pride in using wonderful fresh ingredients to prepare our delicious Italian cuisine. Thank you for dining at Mercato and taking the time to share your thoughts. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing