We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Evening in Charleston”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercato - CLOSED

Mercato
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Wrentham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Evening in Charleston”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend and I was not disappointed. We enjoyed good Italian food and very good jazz throughout the eveing. The waiter was very knowledgable about the menu- they were offering a fish we were not familiar with and he was very helpful. He also was good with wine pairings. The location is very good- right on North Market Street. One of our best nights in Charleston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent dinner at Mercato. Our passionate service staff always strives to provide each guest with memorable experience. Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    171
    44
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a fantastic evening!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food was excellent and so was the service. They had a wonderful Jazz trio that did a great job keeping the place entertained all evening. I would highly recommend that you give this place a try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank smervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We feature different local jazz musicians every night. We appreciate your recommendation. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great meal in Charleston”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a great meal!! The squash blossoms with goat cheese and crab were to die for. Great drinks, great wait staff (Greg ruled), beautiful decor.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit and the service provided by Greg. He was very excited to hear that you thought he “ruled!” Thank you for the great review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Live jazz and homemade pasta.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Since the restaurant was busy, we ate at the bar, which turned out to be a great move. A jazz trio was playing and we relaxed over a drink and listened as we chatted with our neighbors. Christine at the bar made the best drink I had in Charleston - a blood orange martini. The chicken marsala was excellent, especially since I had asked for it to be served over tagliatelle instead of mashed potatoes. My companion's pomodoro sauce was flavorful but he wished he had ordered it over the homemade pasta. All in all, great vibe and wonderful food and drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aydenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Mercato! Our lively bar atmosphere and experienced bartenders provide a fun dining alternative. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is a little off the radar, but I read about it on the forum and was behind on getting reservations. We dined upstairs and the live jazz trio drifted up to provide a pleasant background. We had pork milanese and veal picata. The veal was one of the best versions I have had. We shared a salad -nothing special. On a whim, I ordered the chocolate torte with orange gelato and it was one of the best chocolate desserts I have ever had and I am a chocoholic. We were able to get on a few hours notice and did not regret our choice. We would return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibbs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent evening at Mercato. Our service staff and talented culinary team truly appreciate your kind words. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing