We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop - a great Italian place in the middle of Charleston”
Review of Mercato - CLOSED

Mercato
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Every trip to Charelston finds one night in Mercato's. Coming from the NYC area, Italian has to be extremely good in order for me to make a repeat trip. The menu has enough choices to fill the palet, but not so many to make you indecisive. The mussels are not always on the menu but always available and always great! The wine list is great for the price and in the 10 plus years of going there, never a bad meal, never bad service and always great live Jazz. I prefer to sit down stairs as the atmosphere is more of a small Jazz place but if there is no room, I will sit upstairs in the larger dining room.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit just as much as you have in the past. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 578 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The food here is very good Italian with a modern flair service was great , and the live jazz was good as well, perfect place for large group like we had or couple !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Triumphfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for joining us for dinner. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our authentic Italian cuisine and live jazz. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Finally made reservations here to eat!! We come to Charleston often and have always enjoyed the bar with live jazz. So on our last trip, we decided to treat ourselves to some dinner. The host seated us upstairs and we loved it! It was fun to see the difference in decor...my husband use to bartend here years ago when it was Mitchels on the Market (a 3 story sushi / bar / club scene). The service and food was fantastic and we could still enjoy the live music since we were seated by the stairs. We will return and request upstairs. Don't get rid of the nightly music! We love it when we visit Charleston. Only wish you were open for lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravelSouthTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent dinner with us. We offer live jazz every night and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My parents and I were recommended to try this restaurant by our hotel, French Quarter Inn, on Sun. Jan. 13th. It was the last day of restaurant week, and we were looking forward to trying a 3 for $30 special that was given to our hotel. Upon arriving, we stood for a few minutes inside waiting for someone to seat us. A group of four college students were meeting at the bar, chatting, and then came and stood in front of us to be seated. When someone finally did come, they seated the girls first and my family and I waited, again. We traveled upstairs to be seated. The imitation upscale restaurant had paper covering their table cloths and servers in jeans. After greeted by the waiter, we explained that we wanted the special, detailing the choices that we wanted. The waiter told us that special wasn't available anymore, due to the chef wanting to switch the menu up throughout the week. Disappointed, but still hopeful, we ordered the current 3 for $30 special. The first course was tuna pancake. In my opinion, it was subpar. chicken parm was the second course. Sadly it was nothing special with one piece of cheese melted on top of the chicken. My third course, chocolate sorbet, was in the smallest dipping sauce container they could possibly find. My father ordered a bottle of wine, approx. $45. The waiter was unable to successfully get the cork out of the bottle, breaking it in half. He played it off like it usually happens. Additionally, we waited to get dessert, we asked for the check because at that point we were ready to leave. The waiter brought the check before the dessert even came. Just to complain some more, the olive oil with the bread was bland. It was an awful experience when we were looking forward to an upscale restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank busygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for dining at Mercato. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not as you expected. Our host staff seats guests in order of reservation time then in order of arrival. We appreciate your feedback and have spoken with our hosts to ensure that all guests are greeted in a timely manner. Our restaurant which is listed as “casual dining” does offer a more relaxed atmosphere catering to variety of clientele. The menu provided to you from the hotel was more than likely acquired from the Restaurant Week Website. There was a notation on the website and our menu that the items were subject to change throughout the week. Our Cauliflower Pancake with Lump Crab Meat and our Chicken Parmesan with House Made Mozzarella were popular offerings on our Restaurant week menu. The Sea-Salt and Herb Focaccia bread we offer is made locally and delivered fresh every morning and the olive oil is made from Arbequina Olives which are harvested from plant to press within 90 minutes, retain a fresh fruity flavor and beautiful green color. If you would like to contact us directly we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns in detail. Thank you again for your time and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I often look for a nice Italian restaurant to go to when celebrating special occasions...and we think we finally found what we were looking for...For us the atmosphere is just as important as the food...and this restaurant had plenty...We were there on a Friday night and the live piano music and then jazz group that followed later was the perfect touch. The servers were all very friendly and attentive (without being intrusive) and had even brought out a small, complimentary birthday dessert treat for my husband which was a lovely surprise to both of us! Someone taking our reservations must have made a special note when I had only requested a nice table for a special b'day dinner! We were very happy with all of our food choices and serving sizes and felt the prices were fair enough...Not overly inflated like so many other "special occasion" restaurants around town...and without nearly the same ambience! We look forward to going back again to try more of the many menu choices that caught our eyes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AmyR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for the amazing review! We are honored that you consider us your “new favorite special occasion” restaurant! Our wonderful service staff strives to provide each guest with a memorable experience. Our delicious authentic Italian cusine and nightly live jazz create a fantastic atmosphere to enjoy a romantic evening for two or an energetic night out with friends. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing