We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercato - CLOSED

Mercato
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Montclair, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This place needs more than 5 stars! Food fantastic-best bruschetta and caprisce ever! Service-beyond great! I have an onion allergy and the manager sat down with me and went over each and every item on the menu first! Live jazz band that played beautifully but also did not interfere with your conversation...A MUST!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello Onion Allergy, You two were absolutely great! I give both of you five stars for being so nice! We really appreciate your kind words and it means so much to the staff when they read comments like yours. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I can't wait for you to return!

Have a great Memorial Day weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    171
    44
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was a great meal. Service was spot on and the food was very good. Ambiance is low key and tasteful but not stuffy. Live jazz in the background. All in all a wonderful time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank dilan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello Tennessee, we are so happy to read reviews like yours! Our service standards are high and we really try to make sure we have fun along the way. Please come back and see us soon!

Enjoy your Memorial Day weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at Mercato. I had the Lasagna & it was delicious! We had gone to see the jazz, but we were seated upsatirs. That was a little disappointing but we should have specified when making our resrvations. The staff was friendly and prompt. All around a good experience!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Gina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello Massachusetts, Thank you so much for coming in! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner! We will always try and seat our guests wherever they like depending on availability. The next time you decide to visit, please call ahead and reserve the downstairs and mention you want to be by the music. Then your wish will be granted! Many of our local guest request the upstairs because it is so beautiful and romantic and we really want you to be happy.

Thanks again! Have a wonderful Spring!

My Name is Matt Sanders and if you ever need help with a reservation please feel free to ask for me. 843-722-6393
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The pizza and pasta were great. The staff is very friendly and offered great tips for things to do in the city.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We love Charleston and we love the pizza at Mercato. Everything fresh...everyday! Hope to see you again soon! Thank you for coming in!

Have a great Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food poisoning times two”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend & I took an evening trip to charleston. When we arrived to mercatos, our reservation wasnt available for about 20 minutes. The service was good, however the food was mediocre. My boyfriend spent the remainder of his evening making out with the toilet, as did I the following morning (today). We havent been able to eat anything since, almost 24 hrs later. We had to leave charleston early & had a miserable ride home. A complete disappointment to what could've been a nice & rare weekend getaway for us.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Bigtippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing