We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Nearby Hotels
$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
$348
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$399
$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$279
$249
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveler rating
267
244
162
69
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
244
162
69
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsashley riverfront deskcharleston downtownbreakfast barriver viewtrolley stopfree breakfastfree parkingminute drivemorning breakfastyogurtthe entire staffking streetmuscfreewaycitadelpets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 788 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Avoid this hotel if you want to be close to Downtown Charleston or want a good night's sleep, the location is awful. It's too far to walk to Broad St area where the most beautiful old houses are located and it sits at the intersection of a few busy streets so it's very noisy. We walked back to the hotel once because we were at a restaurant nearby (The Grocery, highly recommend) and it wasn't a pleasant walk at all, I wouldn't do it if it were dark outside. The trolley that takes you downtown is a noisy rickety old thing and it deposits you too far from Charleston's main attractions. If you are out and about exploring beautiful Charleston you can't just drop by for a quick break etc., it's a long shlep back to the hotel.

The rooms are cramped and have the noisiest air conditioner units I have ever seen. They sound like a freight train is actually in your room. First we were given a room on the second floor that was right above their big AC units, so it was very noisy and they moved us one floor up. The bathroom floor in that room wasn't cleaned and had hair all over it; the toilet wasn't cleaned either. We switched rooms the next night after speaking to the manager and she gave us a room on the 6th floor with a slightly more modern AC unit but it was still very noisy. That room had a used towel hanging on the door. Management, if you are reading this, you need to get your housekeeping staff up to so snuff, these kinds of things are unacceptable, even for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheOHtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for providing us feedback from your stay. We are very sorry for the issues you had with housekeeping. They issues you mentioned were already addressed with the staff and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. We are so sorry there was the mix up.

We are not located within walking distance to the Historic District. We are located about a mile and a half or a 5 minute drive. The free town trolley pickup is just minutes from the hotel and will drop you ate the Visitor's Center in the Historic District. We are disappointed you did not find this service convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! It was very comfortable and everyone was very nice but there were definitely a few issues.

Very nice looking when you first enter the lobby.

Our room was tiny but pretty with a big king bed. Bathroom also tiny.

The room did NOT have a mini fridge which I found annoying bc we drove 11 hrs so we had food in a cooler bag with ice packs that really needed to be refrigerated. I felt that was weird that there wasn't a fridge. I feel like most places have them especially for the price.

Anyway. Enough about the fridge!
There were 4 pillows on the bed. 2 labeled soft, 2 labeled firm but they all felt lumpy and soft! I called the front desk and they brought up 2 "firm" pillows. They were better but still not great. I just slept with all 3 and it was fine.

Breakfast was great! Just wish it was until 1030 so we could've slept in a bit and still be able to get breakfast. Coffee all day long which was awesome!

There was a nice outdoor pool. We didn't have much time to take advantage of it and the water is still chilly this time of year but I'm sure it is great in the summer!

One morning one of the housekeepers knocked on our door and woke us up even though we had the do not disturb sign on the door. As I mentioned, we like to sleep in a bit on vacation (it was 9am when she knocked) so that was a little annoying.

The checkout process was quick and easy although I had a terrible time getting a luggage cart! I think they only have 3 of them and every time I went to get one they were all gone! I finally had to stalk someone that was loading their car out front and snag it from them when they were done.

The hotel is not very walkable to downtown. The free trolley stop is very close but they do not run very often or on time. We took a taxi from the hotel to the heart of downtown for $10 flat rate. There is essentially no free parking in Charleston. Parking meters/lots are all $2/hr...not too too bad.

Overall I definitely recommend this as an affordable place to stay in Charleston.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank dana9880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you providing the details of your experience to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at this property for 4 nights, location is far from perfect, dont get fooled by the fact the hotel is downtown, it'll take you about 25-30 min walk to get to the actual Life of downtown Charlston and half of the way will look like you're walking through a ghetto. Yes, there is a free trolley with complicated route that runs twice and hour but its never on time. The hotel is decent, with recent touch-ups but still dated, there is a dinasaur of an ac unit in the wall that sounds like a jet engine turbine. It is literally impossible to sleep with ac on. The room they gave us was half the size of a typical HI room, not sure if all rooms are like that. Bathroom is also about 1/2 scale. The hotel is right next to the intersection of Highway 17, several main streets and bridges and it is Extremely noisy 24/7. If you can stay for under $ 200 elsewhere within walking distance to downtown I would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lixonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We are disappointed you did not enjoy our location. We are a Downtown hotel but not within walking distance of the Historic District. While just a 5 minute drive to the Historic District, we are also very close to MUSC and within walking distance to Joe Riley Stadium. Being on the free trolley route for the City does offer our guests an opportunity to access the Historic District without having to pay the high prices of staying in the heart.

Your feedback of the A/C unit is invaluable. We have been able to take our guest feedback and upgrade our units on an as needed basis to combat the jet engine noise. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed there the night before our cruise. We checked in and then went downstairs for a glass of wine during the happy hour with a few snacks which was really nice. We drove to downtown Charleston and had dinner. We purchased the package in which we left our car at the hotel during the cruise and they provided a shuttle to take us to the ship and then pick us up and return us from the ship to the hotel, It was so easy and everyone was very pleasant. If you are driving to Charleston to the cruise this is the way to do it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twinmom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed our excellent service! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with my fiance that was coming in from overseas. It was by far the Perfect getaway. Very close to historic downtown Charleston and right by the water! The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The view overlooking the water was just fantastic! Even though you are not in the middle of dowtown charleston you are just minutes from everything, dining, shopping, dancing, etc This hotel in my opinion is a great location for a romatic getaway or a family vacation. The staff is very friendly (especially the manager Rebecca). We will diffently stay at this location again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to provide you the getaway you were looking for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews