We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY LOCATION....AC UNIT SOUNDS LIKE A TURBINE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“NOISY LOCATION....AC UNIT SOUNDS LIKE A TURBINE”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at this property for 4 nights, location is far from perfect, dont get fooled by the fact the hotel is downtown, it'll take you about 25-30 min walk to get to the actual Life of downtown Charlston and half of the way will look like you're walking through a ghetto. Yes, there is a free trolley with complicated route that runs twice and hour but its never on time. The hotel is decent, with recent touch-ups but still dated, there is a dinasaur of an ac unit in the wall that sounds like a jet engine turbine. It is literally impossible to sleep with ac on. The room they gave us was half the size of a typical HI room, not sure if all rooms are like that. Bathroom is also about 1/2 scale. The hotel is right next to the intersection of Highway 17, several main streets and bridges and it is Extremely noisy 24/7. If you can stay for under $ 200 elsewhere within walking distance to downtown I would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lixonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are disappointed you did not enjoy our location. We are a Downtown hotel but not within walking distance of the Historic District. While just a 5 minute drive to the Historic District, we are also very close to MUSC and within walking distance to Joe Riley Stadium. Being on the free trolley route for the City does offer our guests an opportunity to access the Historic District without having to pay the high prices of staying in the heart.

Your feedback of the A/C unit is invaluable. We have been able to take our guest feedback and upgrade our units on an as needed basis to combat the jet engine noise. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    233
    153
    57
    37
See reviews for
241
242
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed there the night before our cruise. We checked in and then went downstairs for a glass of wine during the happy hour with a few snacks which was really nice. We drove to downtown Charleston and had dinner. We purchased the package in which we left our car at the hotel during the cruise and they provided a shuttle to take us to the ship and then pick us up and return us from the ship to the hotel, It was so easy and everyone was very pleasant. If you are driving to Charleston to the cruise this is the way to do it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinmom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed our excellent service! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with my fiance that was coming in from overseas. It was by far the Perfect getaway. Very close to historic downtown Charleston and right by the water! The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The view overlooking the water was just fantastic! Even though you are not in the middle of dowtown charleston you are just minutes from everything, dining, shopping, dancing, etc This hotel in my opinion is a great location for a romatic getaway or a family vacation. The staff is very friendly (especially the manager Rebecca). We will diffently stay at this location again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to provide you the getaway you were looking for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We got there at 7 on a tuesday night and they were clearly full. The first room they put us in was a ground floor room with no working lights and a baseball sized hole in the wall from the doorknob. We complained and they switched us to a second floor room with a view of the dumpsters and the shuttered fast food restaurant next door. The location was quite far from downtown and a car (or the use of public transit) would be essential if your desire was to visit the historic center. The room was quite small and poorly appointed, but fairly clean. The room service forgot to replenish our room with towels and toiletries twice during our stay of four nights and we had to call down to rectify. Breakfast, a weak link with a lot of hotels offering it was particularly weak here. Each day, there were Soviet style shortages in any number of breakfast basics, including an incredulous shortage of coffee one morning so protracted that we resorted to getting it off site. All in all I have had much better experiences in much cheaper hotels. Maybe if it were for a night or two and maybe if it were a bit cheaper, but under the current circumstances I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Get there early or call and specify a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I am very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are located 1.5 miles from the center of the Historic District, about a 5 minute drive. I apologize for the issues you encountered with your room service and at our breakfast bar. Those issues will be addressed with the staff. We did just roll out the new Holiday Inn Express breakfast which includes our regular favorites like scrambled eggs, bacon, and signature cinnamon rolls with the addition of more healthy options like an oatmeal bar, additional fresh fruit options, Greek yogurt and turkey sausage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I had stayed downtown Charleston for 3 nights then moved out to HI Express because I had family joining me. I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean, very friendly, and easy access to free trolleys that ran every half hour to take you down town. I didn't have a car and didn't need one. Charleston is an easy town to walk around in. The breakfast was better than most "included" breakfasts. One morning we even had omelets. Coffee maker, refrig, and microwave all worked great in the room. I would definitely stay here again. I had to get a taxi to the airport and I was quoted by the desk $30 but it turned out to be $35. They did arranged for it at my request.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We opted to stay out from the downtown area to save some money. We weren't disappointed because this hotel was affordable, relatively new and within a short walk to catch the free trolley that takes you to downtown Charleston. Complimentary breakfast was hot and better than most. King bed was comfy and bathroom spacious.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed our location, value, and the free trolley to the Historic District!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This HI Express location is close to historic Charleston and does a fine job in providing clean rooms and friendly desk service. The breakfast offered at the hotel is your typical "included" breakfast. You will need a car (or hotel has a shuttle that we did not use) to the historic downtown area. Free parking and wireless internet are good perks. Rooms are comfortable and have been upgraded to the new HI Express look. Was a fine choice for a short trip to Charleston. There are many other higher end hotels, but this is suitable if you are not looking for a 5 star hotel and are going to be spending most of your time sightseeing.

Room Tip: Asked about an upgrade and was told my room facing the river was an upgrade...however, because of ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddict1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are very happy we could accommodate you for your trip to Charleston! We are happy you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. The free DASH town trolley does make a great way to access the Historic District as we do not consider ourselves within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing