We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Holiday Inn - No More/Less - Not Best Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It's a Holiday Inn - No More/Less - Not Best Downtown Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our mystery hotel for Hotwire. Downtown is walkable, but it's a 30 minute walk. If you are visiting more for the college than downtown, this would be a suitable hotel as the college is only a 10 minute walk.

Rooms were ok. Loud AC unit (only annoying when it cuts on/off) which we kept running all night.

Breakfast is appreciated but the bacon felt/tasted like microwave bacon and there was no sausage. There was a pankake maker which was nice though.

Again, nothing terrible, but at the same time, nothing to stand out. If you want to be downtown, this isn't the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Higher floors might lead to a better view depending on direction. Hotel has 8 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metalheadrr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am disappointed we were not able to WOW you at our location. Our goal is to provide our guests a lower cost alternative to staying in the heart of the Historic District including a complimentary hot breakfast and complimentary parking while providing the same great Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    225
    144
    50
    33
See reviews for
228
232
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

So we knew nothing about Charleston, but on a whim decided to swing into town for the weekend and brought our dog with. We absolutely could not have lucked out any better - It was a little expensive compared to some in the area - But we quickly found out why, there was the South Eastern Outdoorsman convention in town, and this Holiday Inn, happens to be a walk across the street. We had an absolutely beautiful room - Overlooking the River, we could hear music playing from the convention during the day, and convenient shuttle service to downtown. We walked to downtown from the hotel for dinner- Which I wouldn't necessarily recommend to just anyone, it's not far, (Maybe a mile) but it's not the nicest of neighborhoods to walk through. We caught a cab back and it was $8. Overlall, a great experience.

Room Tip: High level and River side are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will-UofU-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
You couldn’t have picked a better weekend! The weather was great and with SEWE in town, so much happening within walking distance of the hotel. And it’s always a pleasure to have a visit from our four-legged friends as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

After we booked this room through an online service we realized that is was on the outer edge of their "downtown" envelope. I doubt that many visitors would consider this hotel to be "downtown." It is a good 1.5 miles from the visitor center and another mile from the area around, and north of, the battery. There is very little that you can walk to from the hotel except for a McDonalds. Charleston does run a free shuttle bus down to the visitor center from this area. I understand that the trip takes about a half an hour. We intended to take the shuttle, but the day was cold and damp, with a misty rain, and when the shuttle did not arrive within ten minutes of the scheduled time, we decided to get out of the rain and drive to the visitors center, which took less than ten minutes, but then we had to pay for parking.

The rooms and bathrooms are not very large and are very tight. We ran out of tissues in the bathroom and they left a new box sitting on the sink rather than in the dispenser. Toiletries that were used were not replaced, and the used tea bags were not replaced. The bed was very comfortable.

One of the benefits listed for this venue is free parking, but the lot is not large enough for a busy night, and many of us had to be creative one evening in carving out spots for our cars. The hotel is also situated next to a busy highway, so there is a lot of highway noise at all hours of the day and night.

When we asked at the desk for restaurant recommendations nearby, they were less than useful and did not come up with anything except the nearby fast-food establishments. There are some good restaurants less than a mile from the hotel, but with bad weather we needed to drive. The local neighborhoods have very little parking, so you need to be prepared to drive around for a bit.

The free breakfast is typical of this sort of hotel and is not bad. The breakfast food staff were excellent in insuring they did not run out of food, and in clearing tables as people finished their breakfasts.

Needless to say, I would not stay there again and would not recommend the Holiday Inn Express Charleston "Downtown" - Ashley River.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Photo_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am disappointed to hear you would not stay with us again. We try to be very forthcoming that we are not in the Historic District yet make a lower cost alternative to that option. With our complimentary breakfast and parking, we can provide a great value.

I thank you for providing the feedback regarding your housekeeping issue so that we may address them to improve in those areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechburg, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was okay for our purpose, we could get the free trolly to downtown, in a quiet area, room was spacious although had a noisy air conditioner. Breakfast was included and was very good, hot eggsm bacon, bisquicks, and the usual other breakfast items. Fresh coffee 24/7

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast. With us being along the Free DASH Trolley line, it makes it easy to access the Historic District if you want to avoid the drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wonderful location . . and Harrison Bolling was extremely helpful to us, showing flexibility and a strong focus on the needs of the customer. This is our go-to hotel for visiting Charleston . . . would recommend to anyone visiting Charleston.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
On behalf of Harrison and the team, Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I just returned from an overnight visit to Charleston, SC where we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Ashley River. We went with friends who were visiting from WI and we were all delighted to find such a "gem". The location was great, personal were very nice and helpful, rooms great, beds very comfy, overall a very pleasant experience. The hotel is only a year old so that was very nice! Usually when my husband and I travel to Charleston we stay at one of the Marriott properties but now we have another choice. Barbara Towles

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBARA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you Ms. Barbara! You are a GEM! We will look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was a great place to stay. I had to travel to MUSC due to my brother's illness and had to find a place to stay quickly. With assistance from the hospital concierge I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. I checked in for 2 nights and return home not aware that I would be back in the same day to check in again. On my initial stay I left a couple of items unintentionally. Called back for these items and they were waiting at the desk when I arrived for my second visit. What service! They even gave me the same room that I was given initially. The staff was so nice and helpful. This is the hotel that I will stay in anytime I have to travel to Charleston.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms have a balcony but mines did. Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We understand you had much more to worry about with your brother. We’re glad we could help make things a little easier for you. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing