We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dog friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you have a pet and want a hotel conveniently located near the Historic District, then this is the best choice for you. There a great dog park nearby to walk your dog and the added touch of doggy bags & treats, when we checked in was really nice.

Room Tip: Try and get the room closest to the pet exit at the rear of the hotel. It also makes it close to wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papadup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We love our 4-legged friends here at the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown! Brittlebank Park is so close and a great place to walk your dog! Especially at sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    225
    144
    50
    33
See reviews for
228
232
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My friends and I booked 3 rooms for 7 nights after Christmas (Dec 28-Jan 5) over New Years.

At first sight, the hotel definitely puts its best foot forward. The lobby is welcoming and warm, bright and clean. We arrived late, but after being buzzed in, the front desk gal checked us in and the process was quick and painless (exactly what I was hoping for after a 15 hour car ride). We got to our room and were immediately pleased with what we saw. Two well appointed queen beds and a large room and bathroom. There was unfortunately, a stray head hair on each bed though, so I don’t know if the linens need to be better laundered or what, but that should definitely be double checked by the room attendants before a new occupant enters the room. Over the course of the stay, I asked the linens to be changed only 2 times. The first time it was not executed on the day I requested. I called the front desk the following evening when we arrived back in the room and the manager apologizes profusely and offered to send someone up at that moment to change the linens, but it was already late in the evening, so I said no and they did in fact take care of it the following day (so 2 days after initially requested). The manager did check back in with me the following day (which was courteous and appreciated) to make sure that the attendant did change the sheets.

We enjoyed the continental breakfast most mornings. Every other day the swap out scrambled eggs for pre-formed omelets with peppers. This was nice that there was a change up, but also that we knew what we were getting. The coffee is ok in the lobby, not excellent, but ok. The tea that the hotel has is really great though, and the little honey packs and lemon juice were really helpful since it was an unseasonably cold week we were there. There is yogurt, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, toast, bagels and cereal each morning.

We stayed in room 303, which is up against the elevators. I’m not a particularly sensitive sleeper, but my friend was and she noticed the elevator noise so if you’re a light sleeper, ask to not be in the ‘03’ tier or the ‘04’ tier that abuts the stairwell (which my friends stayed in and said they could hear the noise from folks using the stairs). The 03 tier is also on the side overlooking the pool and the larger area of the parking lot.

Speaking of parking lot, the hotel was definitely at capacity, which was evident by the overflowing parking lot. That situation scared me a bit when we first pulled in, but the parking capacity ended up not being a problem for our 3 cars, the standing rainwater however is another matter entirely. The center of the lot doesn't drain when it rains (and it rained a lot while we were there) so there was literally a lake in the lot for 2 days preventing us from getting to one of the cars for those few days. The hotel should proactively do something about the drainage system or repave the parking lot so water moves outward.

The upside of the hotel’s location is that it’s right on the purple line of the free trolley/shuttle bus that will take you into the historic district. The downside is that the bus doesn't run regularly at all, so we only rode it twice during the entire week. Also, there are a lot of locals that ride the bus as a means of transportation so it’s usually pretty full.

I would've preferred to have stayed a little closer into the center of the historic district, but this ended up being the best option. Room rates were much more reasonable at this Holiday Inn and it had ample parking for free, which other hotels were not offering. We didn't have any issue finding parking when we would drive into the historic district, so staying a little further out was actually ok considering the money we saved.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others, especially if they’re staying more than 2 or 3 days in the city, need the free parking and don’t mind being a little out of the main part of town.

Room Tip: If you're a sensitive sleeper, stay away from the '03' tower of rooms that abut the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofoula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate you and hope you choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My fiancee and I are getting married in Charleston in August this year so spent a week there at the end of January to see the venue, meet vendors and taste food and cake!
The Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Ashley River was the perfect location to base ourselves for the week as we had appointments in all directions.
We found the hotel to be really comfortable and clean with very good facilities. The staff were superb and could not do enough to help us - polite, professional and eager to help.
And the complimentary breakfast was excellent with a great choice of hot and cold food each morning.
We had a dog with us and they are very accommodating for pet owners, putting us on the ground floor.
Our room was big and the bed was very comfortable. Fantastic shower, too! We also had a microwave and fridge in the room which was really useful.
Despite the weather (we went in the week Charleston shut down for a couple of days because of the snow), it was a great visit and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: With a dog, it was great to be on the ground floor. We were also near a rear exit which made it easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials! Thank you so much for recommending our hotel! I think I'm safe to guarantee you won't experience an ice storm come August for you wedding ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days while attending a wedding. Left to visit Myrtle Beach, ended up back here for 2 more days as they had a snow/ice storm that ended up shutting down the town and our flight had been cancelled for 2 days.
They have an excellent breakfast buffet. The pancake maker is great. The staff is awesome from front desk to housekeeping. Rebecca, Becca, Caroline, Mike, the list goes on, everyone of them always had a smile on their face and were very friendly.
The beds had extra pillows, very comfortable, the rooms had micro/fridge.
There was little to do with everything closed, the staff made calls for us to find a place to eat. We were able to walk to Marriott behind the hotel for lunch since Holiday Inn doesn't have restaurant. Showed us different ways to navigate around since the bridges were closed. We are from Boston area, to us we are use to driving in snow/ice, but Charleston was not. As we were told unseasonably cold there. I wish that they had heated pool that we could have used, to help pass the time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nooccaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed yourself. Ice storms in Charleston are quite unusual but we are happy we were able to spend more time with you! Thank you for recognizing everyone! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This holiday inn is a very nice place to stay. My family was there for the weekend prior to going a a cruise. We enjoyed the hot breakfasts that had a lot of options for adults and the children. Elaine and Robin in the dining area were very attentive and nice. A very good reflection for the hotel. Everything from the checkin, breakfast, rooms, elevators all very clean

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We hope you had a great time on your cruise! We are a great option for a pre or post cruise stay here in Charleston. And Elaine and Robin will give you a heartfelt sendoff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is very new and is a very nice place to stay. We enjoyed the hot breakfast with many options as well as the dining room. Robin in the dining area was a very nice employee who went out of her way to make our breakfast perfect. The bedrooms were nice and well appointed and very clean. I liked staying here because of the cleanliness of the room. The pillows vary giving you some choices, some soft, some firm. The bed was comfortable. The remote has been cleaned. The bathroom was perfect and the amenities (bath and body works) were very nice. This location is very convenient to historic Charleston and for the price of the stay with the breakfast, it is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellapopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for providing such a great review. The soft and firm pillows are just one of those little touches that helps Holiday Inn Express make your stay just that much more comfortable. And thank you for recognizing Robin in our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were there last weekend because my girlfriend was running in the Charleston marathon. The accommodations were very nice and it was convenient for the race. The staff is very nice and The experience was made exceptional because of Charles who works there. He greeted us several times outside and helped with parking, bags and most of all big smile and great personality. I spend about 60 nights a year in hotels for work and have not had the service that Charles provided. It was not just with us , I observed him going above and beyond for all the guests. What a nice touch for this hotel to get your stay off to a great start and make it a very pleasurable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We hope your friend did great in the race! We are such a convenient location to many of Charleston's points of interest and activities. And you are so sweet to say such wonderful things about Charles! He is just one of our fabulous employees that love to make his guests feel right at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing