We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family place to stay!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is very new and is a very nice place to stay. We enjoyed the hot breakfast with many options as well as the dining room. Robin in the dining area was a very nice employee who went out of her way to make our breakfast perfect. The bedrooms were nice and well appointed and very clean. I liked staying here because of the cleanliness of the room. The pillows vary giving you some choices, some soft, some firm. The bed was comfortable. The remote has been cleaned. The bathroom was perfect and the amenities (bath and body works) were very nice. This location is very convenient to historic Charleston and for the price of the stay with the breakfast, it is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellapopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for providing such a great review. The soft and firm pillows are just one of those little touches that helps Holiday Inn Express make your stay just that much more comfortable. And thank you for recognizing Robin in our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    228
    147
    55
    37
See reviews for
236
238
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were there last weekend because my girlfriend was running in the Charleston marathon. The accommodations were very nice and it was convenient for the race. The staff is very nice and The experience was made exceptional because of Charles who works there. He greeted us several times outside and helped with parking, bags and most of all big smile and great personality. I spend about 60 nights a year in hotels for work and have not had the service that Charles provided. It was not just with us , I observed him going above and beyond for all the guests. What a nice touch for this hotel to get your stay off to a great start and make it a very pleasurable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We hope your friend did great in the race! We are such a convenient location to many of Charleston's points of interest and activities. And you are so sweet to say such wonderful things about Charles! He is just one of our fabulous employees that love to make his guests feel right at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here on an overnight to Charleston. It took less than 5 minutes to drive into downtown Charleston making this WELL worth the cost savings at not staying downtown. The room was very nice, modern, and bed very comfortable. We had a hard time regulating the temp though. Nothing would happen when I used the electronic gauge and only did something happen when my husband messed with the wall unit. Weird. The breakfast was basic but a nice to have. The parking lot was a bit of a cluster on a Sat night. We came back to the hotel around midnight and we got the last spot on the far other side close to the road. There were people parked at curbs.

Other than that, great value and comfortable place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We appreciate your recognition of our great value and comfortable hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I had made arrangements to stay at this hotel and at the very last minute needed to amend it. We needed to include another, adjoining room. All it took was a phone call.
We spent four nights which were wonderful.
The location was perfect, right on the FREE city trolley system, that takes you just about anywhere a tourist might want to go.
Breakfast each morning gave a good start to very busy days of exploring.
And did I say that parking at this hotel is FREE! Most places in the city will charge $45 + per night.
Loved the lobby area where breakfast is served, it made for a pleasant gathering place for our crew to enjoy our take-away dinners together and watch football at the same time.
We hope to return to Charleston and when we do we will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Ashley River.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
So happy you enjoyed your holiday with us! Our FREE parking does add a ton of value as you mentioned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a hotel in Charleston for a decent rate but was still nearby to downtown. We hit the jackpot here!

The only complaint I could scrape up is that the traffic and noise outside can be heard easily with the balcony door (which didn't lock) closed - but with air/heat on it drowns out the noise. The view isn't terrific either, but you're right outside of everything...with this terrific value I guess you have to sacrifice somewhere! The distance from King St. is about a 5 - 10 minute drive. It is walkable...but it'd be a hefty little walk - we chose to drive.

But those things are just minor and in no way diminish the quality of this hotel. The service was terrific and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful: management, front desk, housekeeping, the breakfast staff - all were great! The hotel was very clean and comfortable - the sheets, the room, the bathrooms, the lobby - terrific! The complimentary internet was fast, and the TV was very nice with plenty of channels to choose from (it had all the games I needed to watch available)! Lastly, the breakfast was amazing and truly spoiled us - pancakes, eggs, biscuits & gravy, yogurt, cereal...you name it it's available...and fresh! Also, to top it off, there was always coffee.

Would my wife and I stay here again? DEFINITELY! It's the best you can get without being right downtown in my honest opinion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crockett312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! You mentioned some really great amenities of ours like complimentary wireless Internet, location to the Historic District, and YUMMY complimentary HOT breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have tried 2 different hotels while having to deal with my husband's medical problems at MUSC. By far this is the one I like the most as far as cleanliness, courtesy and just all around hospitality.
Very caring when I have had to stay by myself because my husband has been admitted to the hospital. Harrison was especially courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We appreciate you choosing us! Thank you for recognizing Harrison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful, clean hotel. Friendly, helpful staff whom go above and beyond. Great location for down town and perfect for M.U.S.C visitors. The breakfast is great, well stocked and kept clean. Love love love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilbit0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you! We love love love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing