We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice staff and clean modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff and clean modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We selected this hotel based on the reviews of friendly staff and nice hotel and found this to be very true during our stay. The staff were all so helpful and friendly and the hotel clean and modern. Plenty of outlets in room and free wireless. Hearty breakfast served daily and with a smile by Robin and Carolyn. Stacey was always attentive to our room service needs. Hotel is in a great location to easily access downtown Charleston as well as surrounding beaches and tourist attractions. Free trolley service available adjacent to the hotel parking lot. Great price for hotel stay so you can save some money for seeing the sights of this beautiful historic town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are happy to provide you with such a great Charleston experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    208
    132
    38
    19
See reviews for
204
208
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed three nights. The staff was friendly and the service was excellent. The free breakfast was excellent. Easy 5 minute drive to the old section of Charleston. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star recommendation and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Booked here in part due to excellent ratings on Trip Advisor, but I was greatly disappointed. For my family of 5, I booked two rooms. In one room, the light didn't work; in the other room, the phone didn't work. There were few outlets, and they didn't all work, so re-charging phones, etc. after a 15 hour drive was difficult at best. Free breakfast was about the poorest I have experienced in many years of travel; food trays emptied by 7:30 - 8 am, and remained empty for periods of 20-30 minutes. They seemed to run out of everything. Staff was very nice and tried to be helpful clearing tables, but what was the point if we hadn't been able to get anything to eat? On the plus side, even though away from downtown, there was free parking and the free shuttle trolley was great. Just wish that the front desk didn't send us out one-half hour early for a trolley that isn't actually scheduled on the weekends. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
I am disappointed as well to hear that you encountered so many problems with your stay. I greatly apologize. I am very sorry that you would not stay with us again but do thank you for your feedback as we may improve in any lacking areas going forward. We do appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We only stayed for one night but the experience was great. The hotel is well located, plenty of parking and the holiday inn standards of customer care. Becca, Jami and Robin were very helpful in sharing their points of interest around town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation and the recognition of our great staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel proved to be well worth the value. We used our car and it was a very convenient location. The room was clean, the lobby and breakfast/TV rooms were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Jami, Elaine and Robin were very helpful at breakfast which was plentiful and yummy. Having a fridge and microwave was helpful during the 5 night stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fridge and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are happy to be able to provide our guests such great value while visiting Charleston. Thank you for your recognition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and very pleasant. Thenlocation is just minutes from downtown Charleston, and the breakfasts were great. This is not a luxery experience, and we did not sant that. This is a very good reasonably priced way to viskt a beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing us! We appreciate your review and look forward to having you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this cute and clean hotel. I appreciated the decor & color palette. The free breakfast did not disappoint. There is a McDonalds within walking distance, and the trolley stop is on the Lockwood Dr side of the hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful in printing out driving directions to & from Middleton Place and James Island County Park. Make sure you have a GPS as well b/c the roads are tricky. It is very easy to miss a turn or an exit and there is no quick or easy remedy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are very proud to provide you a comfortable stay. I’m happy to hear we were able to help you successfully navigate around Charleston as to not miss any sights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing