We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable with Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Charleston because it is close to the Charleston City Marina where our granddaughter is living on a boat with a friend who also goes to the College of Charleston.

We found the location convenient and the rooms very comfortable. Other than wishing the bathroom lighting was a little brighter, we were totally pleased with our large room and the comfortable beds. But most of all we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Collectively they made us feel welcome with their attentiveness and their smiling faces.

When we first arrived and were trying to find our way around, we were helped by Charles who was so friendly and who went out of his way to find bottled water for my wife. At breakfast the next morning we met Mike who was preparing tables for the breakfast crowd. Again, it was his smile that impressed us and his interest in making sure everything was right for us. It was nice to see the manager, Harrison, working right along with his staff in cleaning tables and waiting on the breakfasting guests.

With the combination of very comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and all those smiling faces, we will certainly return to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown when we next visit Charleston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theluckycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit. The City Marina is just a hop, skip, and jump down the street! You are very sweet to recognize our employees. We ALL feel like our guests are part of our family and treat you as such, making sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 765 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for one night, the bed was super comfortable, and the room clean. The staff was very courteous. The breakfast was larger than the typical continental breakfast, because it had pancakes, and several other things that made it quite nice. I would recommend this hotel, it is also close to one of the bus stops (213) that takes you downtown to the visitor center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GA167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for recognizing our super comfortable and clean rooms. Our breakfast does offer a variety of choices...I'm glad you enjoyed the pancakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We are quick to complain when things are bad, but I like to give props when things are good. Last night we had to be in Charleston, SC for business purposes at the last minute. I didn't have time to make reservations (not recommended) but took a chance at this hotel. When I entered the hotel I was greeted in a friendly manner by someone behind the desk named Anthony. I have to say that I was very pleased at the way that I was treated. Anthony made me feel like it was his pleasure to serve me. He went out of his way to, well just be plain nice. It is refreshing to see customer service still at work in some places. Not sure what Anthony's title is but it should be manager. Keep up the good work Anthony, I'll be back because of your professionalism.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for recognizing Anthony, our Front Office Manager, as a valuable member of our team! We appreciate you choosing us for your business trip and look forward to your return! Next time in, be sure to ask about our Corporate Rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this location and had a very nice experience and stay here.
The location was convenient. Trolley stop walking distance from hotel and if you wanted to drive then park this location is just minutes away.
The hotel is very clean and neat. The front desk personnel were very helpful, efficient and patient with all the questions quests were throwing at them.
The breakfast staff (Elaine, Carolyn & Jami) were on top of their game! They serviced the morning crowd effienciently and quickly surpassing any continential breakfast bar I have experienced. It was always stocked and tidy as the guests barreled thru the free food. Guests remember to leave a small token of your appreciation as if you had to eat out, these employees work had to ensure you have a pleasent "restaurant " experience. Also the housekeeping was very kind and always asked if I needed anything. Don't forget to tip them... Price customer service, location and rooms are worth a 2nd stay.
Sally

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SallyL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Sally, Thank you for your wonderful review sharing all of the great things about our hotel! We look forward to taking care of you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Front desk employees were very friendly especially James. They explained the free trolley and provided maps. Breakfast was good and seating was available. Rooms were very clean and the décor was very pleasing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAR747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for providing such a positive review about our hotel and for the recognition of James, our newest team member!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to this charming Holiday inn; were a little disappointed at the location as it does say Downtown, and not knowing the city we expected to be able to walk the shopping/dining district. However, a free trolly came by every 30 minutes (most of the time) and it was a fun trip to what we considered 'down town'. The rooms were nice, very luxurious linens and a nice bathroom for two to share. They had a lovely pool and deck which we enjoyed. Breakfast was very nice and the service was beyond compare. The front office staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. And we were! Thank you...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The free town trolley is a convenient, free way to get to the Historic District. I’m glad the weather was nice so you could enjoy our pool deck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

They should emphasize the free trolley in ads, as it made seeing the rest of Charleston very easy, after all the wedding festivities were over. Lobby very nice, with pleasant seating by the 'bubble' features. Rooms were clean, staff very welcoming, breakfast was quite good, ( space & location). Really appreciated having coffee 24/7. Robin & Elaine at breakfast particularly helpful, as we were with a one-year old who required extra clean up. Check in staff excellent, tho very busy most of the time.
Pat R.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your very nice feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our clean hotel. Robin & Elaine thank you for the recognition as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area

Address: 250 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $119 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical area. We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing