We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly recommend....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staying here for a week while a student at MUSC. They gave me a great rate, so I was afraid I would get a substandard room. Not to worry! I love the room.

Chris at the front desk is wonderful and friendly. I love that the room has a (small) coffee maker, as well as a microwave and refrigerator that come in handy. Bathroom is small but spotless. Breakfast is very good in the mornings.

Overall, very pleased with my stay and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airport_brat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We couldn't ask for better than a "Highly Recommend" from a Trip Advisor Senior Reviewer. We are the perfect location while visiting MUSC as a student or patient. Good luck with your studies at MUSC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    225
    144
    50
    33
See reviews for
228
232
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We needed a place to stay while we were having some work done in our vacation home. Being pet friendly was a priority. We have stayed in HI Expresses before with mixed reviews, but knew that this one had recently completed a total renovation. So we took a chance.

The staff was very welcoming. The pet charge of $25 was not unreasonable. Our room on the first floor ( all the pet friendly rooms are there) was bright, fresh and felt new. It was not a large room, but adequate for our needs. The colors were calm and soothing. The furnishings were clean, crisp, modern and functional. Good lighting . Lots of outlets which nowadays is very important. Good TV. Bathroom, although small, was clean with lots of thick towels and good quality toiletries. Great shower with adequate water pressure.

Breakfast was better than average for a chain hotel of this type. Lots of cereals, oatmeal, freshly prepared scrambled eggs ( one day there were omelets that were pretty good). A variety of breads, bagels, muffins, biscuits and spreads. They even had a pancake making machine. They could have had a better variety of yogurts. They also featured gorgeous cinnamon rolls which we resisted, but they looked amazing. One day they had sausage patties, the next day, bacon which also looked nice. Plenty of coffee, tea and decaf. Fresh bananas. Much better than the awful canned fruit that shows up at some other places. Better to just not serve that. Nothing to complain about here. The dining room had plenty of seating.

They were quick to offer both AAA or AARP discounts. Also, our king sized bed was very comfortable. I don't know how they did it, but the bed was both firm and soft at the same time with good pillows. The a/c was a bit noisy, but I sleep with earplugs anyway so it was no problem for me.

If you are a tourist visiting Charleston, this hotel is probably more reasonable than those right in town. You will have a very short ride to all the sights. There are some fast food choices nearby. Just drive into town for all the sights and outstanding restaurants that make Charleston the #1 tourist destination in the country according to Conde Nast.

Room Tip: If you are very noise sensitive , stay on a higher floor. But don't travel with a pet because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoyJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! It was our pleasure to be able to offer you a comfortable place to stay as a temporary alternative to your own home. We appreciate you thinking of us and we are proud to be a part of the #1 City!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molino, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mom, daughter and I had a girls trip to Charleston and we could not have been more satisfied with your hotel! Being a southerner myself, I look for friendly, courteous and helpful staff when traveling. I know that not everyone makes it easy to respond with that friendly smile 24/7 so just wanted to say how great your staff was! Thanks for adding to our wonderful time in your beautiful city:) Stacy Jacobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeebugmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Stacy! We appreciate you recognizing our employees. It's easy to provide great service to such wonderful people like yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Renovated hotel in old building with inadequate parking. Comfortable bed but LOUD A/C that ran almost constantly. Housekeeping was the real downfall: found hairs on bathroom floor upon arrival, coffee maker was not serviced (dirty filter pack left behind, no new coffee or cups left), no new laundry bag, no new water cups, no towels at the pool. Experience reminded me why we usually frequent the Hilton properties.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jennifer A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with our housekeeping services and the room accommodations you received fell below your expectations. We also apologize for the noise challenges you had with your in-room Air Conditioner and any inconvenience you may have experience with our parking facility. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My son had an appointment at MUSC in Charleston, and my husband and I decided to stay in Charleston instead of driving down the day of the appointment. The staff at MUSC gave us a list of hotels and we chose the Holiday Inn Express Downtown-Ashley River. I was not aware that the hotel was pet friendly. I probably would have chosen another property since my son has allergies, and I have a toddler who is not used to dogs. We were on the floor near several animals, and they were quiet and you could not tell there were pets in the room. Our room had a few minor issues but it was things that you had to search for and nothing for us to want to move (sockets that did not work, ac socket pulled from wall). The property is well maintained, and CLEAN. Our room was clean, and our bed was super comfortable. The hotel does not have a shuttle, but there is a taxi service that will take you to downtown and they are reasonable and efficient. Glad we were given the recommendation by the hotel staff. Breakfast was delicious every single day. Robin our hostess made sure that food was always replenished and she was very pleasant. Holly who wore several different hats while we were there, was very helpful and pleasant. Rebecca at the front desk was very helpful when it came to answering any questions we had (how to get to the Mall :) and shuttle service to MUSC). She was a breath of fresh air at the front desk. Shonnekia who serviced our room did an excellent job, and she takes great pride in her job. Harrison made sure all of our needs were met. The staff at this hotel is friendly, and they care about their guests. We would most definitely stay here again, but I would request a higher floor or possibly a suite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proudmommysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
On behalf of all the staff mentioned, we appreciate you choosing our hotel during your visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Charleston Downtown - Ashley River is in a great location and is reasonably priced but I was disappointed in the quality of the rooms and the service. I have stayed at HI Express many times and this was by far the worst of the bunch. My toilet kept clogging, the shower door was broken, the rooms were small and cramped, housekeeping didn't come until 3pm when we were back after sightseeing - that is fine - no big deal - told them not to worry about it but they kept coming back. Front desk didn't even ask how our stay was when we left!!!!! Parking was atrocious.
I am pretty realistic when it comes to economy hotels, but there was something about this place that just got on my nerves. Would I stay again???? For the price maybe - but at least the next time I will know what to expect.

Room Tip: Rooms have those adjoining doors - when the people in the next room are near the door/balcony it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eas1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear eas1404,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our location were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with your room accommodation and the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an excellent experience with the staff who were very helpful in giving us information about downtown Charlestown, trolley location, downtown restaurants. Breakfast was a great way to start the day, ROBIN was the hostess during our stay, she was pleasant, helpful with requests our family made. Slept well with comfortable beds and pillows.

Room Tip: Request higher floors as they are very quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlingBling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are happy we could provide you with an excellent experience! I am very happy to hear Robin was able to meet all your requests. She does such a great job in keeping our wonderful guests well fed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing