We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recently spent three nights at this hotel and was very satisfied with both the service and the accommodations. The Front Desk staff was extremely polite and helpful and I'd like to especially commend Chris, Holly and Harrison.. It was also a pleasure to be greeted each morning at breakfast by Robin, one of the dining room attendants. The food served at the breakfast buffet was above average (though the coffee was a bit pale), and the biscuits were scrumptious! The rooms were clean and the household staff friendly. The beds appeared to be new and were very comfortable. Our rooms had an excellent view of the harbor and the pool area. Also, this hotel is conveniently located, with restaurants within easy walking distance, as is the free shuttle bus which provides access to the shopping areas and other downtown sites. In short, this attractive, moderately priced hotel is an excellent choice for those travelers looking for good value, and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Request river/harbor view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mccrumine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. Especially your recognition of our great employees by name! We strive to provide all of our guests the highest possible service combined with the great Holiday Inn Express product that our guests know and love to make an experience to remember. A heartfelt Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 768 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is an easy couple minute drive from downtown. Room was clean. Desk staff was very friendly. "River view" room was nice, not much of a view but it is a few blocks away so you can't expect much. Breakfast was good but less variety than other hotels we have visited. Overall it was very nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefitnessworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We couldn't ask for more than a 5 Star Review from a Trip Advisor Senior Contributor! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friend and I found it to be very clean. The staff was friendly and willing to help the guest even with direction. Easy to get to all the sites of Charleston. Entrance was hard to spot at first. Lots of choices on the breakfast menu. For coffee drinkers. The pot in the room only makes one cup. You won't find fresh coffee in the evening in the lobby area either. Bring your own pot if you need more coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKSQuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston just last week, so I wanted to write this review before I forgot anything.

It was really a pretty ideal hotel experience with just some very minor issues. The rooms were very comfortable, bedding great & extremely clean. My only gripe is that in the bathroom, there is a towel rack directly in front of the sink, where your hips would normally be resting at the sink. It made simple tasks like brushing your teeth harder and other tasks, like putting on makeup or shaving practically impossible. They need a magnifying mirror on the wall, plus removal of that towel bar.

The breakfast was excellent- yogurt, biscuits, eggs & bacon, toasts, a pancake maker, fresh fruit. Way beyond standard fare. There was a 2nd room to eat when the main room got too crowded. It was a great way to start the day.

The staff was extremely friendly and though this is going to sound weird, maybe a bit TOO friendly! You could not enter or exit the hotel without being greeted or called to and it actually was a little annoying after a while and felt kind of forced. I'm sure it's just part of their training, but not necessary.

About a 5 min. walk from the hotel, there is a trolley which is FREE and takes you all around the city. There are a couple of different lines (the hotel will give you a map) but this one takes you to the center of town and then you can transfer depending on where you're going. I think they run about every half hour.

All in all the stay here was really great & I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We encourage our employees to treat our guests as if they were guests in their own home. True Southern Hospitality. We appreciate your 5 Star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff was exceptional, ever ready to help and always saying hello and thanking you for your business. They take great pride in their work and it shows. Hotel is immaculate and smartly furnished. Very comfortable room and well-appointed. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone so long as they're prepared to be a mile or so away from the action of downtown. For the savings, I think it's worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CHS-AGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. Our staff constantly aims to do just that, go "above and beyond" for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your next arrival on your next trip to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel definitely has the upper hand on customer relations! What a friendly and accommodating staff, from management to housekeeping.
The facility itself offered clean, modern, beautifully decorated rooms with lots and lots of fluffy linens!
Each morning until 9:30 a.m. the staff pleasantly provided an abundance of complimentary, delicious breakfast foods-- the coffee was delicious, as well.
We were asked every day during our stay if we were having a good experience at the hotel and Charleston, in general. Great location for accessing the historical districts and beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you so much Miss. Barbara for taking the time to share your experience with the world. You are very gracious with your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our visit to Charlston has been enhanced by the staff at this hotel. From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel special. Liz checked us in and truly cared about making us happy and comfortable. The next morning Harrison showed the same incredible attitude. The entire staff is upbeat, and the hotel is immaculate. If we were to return to Charleston we would most certainly stay here and we would also recommend this hotel.
Leslie Friedland

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Leslie,

Thank you so very much for your recognition of our staff. To provide you fabulous service and a great place to stay it starts with great people. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return "home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.2 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,271 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area

Address: 250 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5102 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $111 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical area. We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing