We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak”
Review of Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Charlestowne
Cross street: State Street
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Recommended by the hotel staff. It was our anniversary and at first they put us on the third floor. Lovely small room - tablecloths, but there was a high chair awaiting a couple with a child next to us. I expect children at a family restaurant, but was not willing to chance a screaming child at an expensive, upscale restaurant. The hostess moved us to the second floor, which is like a small loft area over the first floor bar. Since it is 2 levels with all hard surfaces, it was very nosy. It quieted some after happy hour ended at 7, but was still like sitting in a bar area itself.
The staff could not have been better - Peyton, the hostess; David, our waiter, and Herman, the evening manager worked very hard to make the evening special for us. Our steaks were excellent.The sides are a la carte and come in large shareable portions. Since no one wanted asparagus, David did bring me a smaller portion and I was able to substitute whipped potatoes for the french fries that came with my dinner.In honor of our anniversary, they sent complimentary desserts, but because of having to change tables, etc., Herman sent dessert to our friends also. They were excellent and the home-made creamsicle ice cream was outstanding. They do have complimentary valet parking in the evening, but we found a space on the street just few doors away. Meters are free after 6 pm..Good food and great service- expensive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlin2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    126
    47
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

First time there. Our waitress was funny and a great server. We had many great wines and the beef tartar was awesome. Great atmosphere, great staff and food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing in every detail!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I are locals, but had never experienced Oak. We decided to try it for our anniversary dinner last night. From start to finish - it was amazing. We checked in and the hostess immediately wished us a happy anniversary and said she had a great table in mind for us. We enjoyed a drink at the bar while it was being prepared. The table was tucked in a corner upstairs -- the perfect romantic, cozy spot for an anniversary dinner. The hostess was customer service at its best -- and how many times have you been able to say that about a hostess. She pointed out the important features of the restaurant as she escorted us to our table and gave us a brief overview of the menu. Our waitress, Danni, was knowledgeable and friendly. She made recommendations and was relaxed and eager to answer questions. We never felt rushed - the food progressed at the perfect pace -- with glasses and bread (huge for Hubby) constantly refilled. Oak is a steakhouse, so we shouldn't have been surprised that our steak was good -- but we were surprised that it was the BEST steak either of us had ever eaten. We opted for the shareable 24oz bone-in ribeye -- wet aged for 45 days (a recommendation of Danni's) -- I can't even describe how good it was. We were so full by the end, we had decided not to do dessert. The manager told us to each pick something and they would box it up for us -- for our anniversary. Top notch all the way. Take it from a local who has eaten at (most) spots in Charleston -- Oak is one of the best -- the atmosphere, service and food will not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
“A Terrific Restaurant for Our Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

For our anniversary we visited Charleston for a few days. We did not tell them that it was our anniversary when we made reservations at the Oak Steakhouse, as we did not want any special attention. We were looking for something special for the occasion and a bit upscale. That is exactly what we got!

We were immediately seated on the second floor, which was a perfect spot to watch people on the first floor and also see everyone who were being seated on the third floor. Our waiter David brought us our menus and took our drink orders. Upon his return, he took our dinner selections. My husband ordered the Caesar Salad ($10.00) and David noted that it was large enough to share, so it was brought in two seperate bowls. It came with white anchovy filets, a bit different in flavor than the typical anchovies from the grocery store.

We ordered an 8 ounce center cut Certified Angus Beef filet mignon ($39.00 each) and we shared a side order of Lobster Macaroni & Cheese ($17.00) The filet Mignon was cooked perfectly, melt-in-your-mouth good and came with a choice of sauces: Bearnaise, the House Oak steak sauce, Hollandaise, Bordelaise or Horseradish Cream. The Lobster Macaroni & Cheese had numerous chunks of lobster, the sauce was a bit thin (I personally prefer a thick cheesy sauce)

A nice professional touch was when Michele Pavlakos the General Manager came by, at unobtrusive times, to our table to inquire about our meal.

We had a very delightful meal, terrific service and we savored every moment of our anniversary. We look forward to our next visit to the Oak Steakhouse!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Oak is a wonderful upscale place for a special celebration (in this case a birthday) in a historic former bank building in downtown Charleston. While it prides itself on its outstanding steaks, everything they serve is of the highest quality. While we were there, we received a lot of attention from several different servers, but we did have a little difficulty locating our main server.However, it was a leisurely and very enjoyable evening. We dined on the third floor, which is the most quiet area of the restaurant.
We both started with the beef carpaccio (truffle vinaigrette) appetizer which is the best I have ever eaten anywhere. My friend enjoyed the parmesan crusted rack of lamb and I had the whole fried lobster with citrus-ginger beurre blanc. This is a little seen treat - the lobster is so moist and flavorful with the wonderful sauce. It's still messy to open the claws but well worth the effort! Both dishes were served with a potato side, and we also shared a tasty dish of a variety of baked mushrooms. For dessert we opted for the Godiva Chocolate Martini - it was divine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Steakhouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing