We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Charlestowne
Cross street: State Street
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Most of the "fancy" restaurants in Charleston were a little to pretentious for our casual family taste. But The Oak was very warm and welcoming! We made a last minute reservation, but they worked us in quickly. The food was absolutely perfect from start to finish. The server was knowlegable and prompt. The prices are high, but that's to be expected for the quality of food, preparation and service. So plan to just relax, enjoy the authentic architecture, fabulous food and don't get sticker shock when the tab comes . . . you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BozzLadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    125
    46
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Super meal”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On a brief visit to charleston, my husband and I had dinner at the oak steakhouse. The meal was fabulous and the service was top on. It's expensive, but well worth the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seccarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Five Star Southern Gem”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

These folks go out of the way to bring you the best of the best in quality and happiness. Can't ever finish the portions. Outstanding wine list and fares. One of my favorites in Charleston.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dave2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dinner redux”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Although we had a terrible service experience our first visit to the restaurant, we decided to return to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary. This time the service was great. I called ahead to ask for a seat in general seating area, and told them about the birthday/anniversary celebration. It was great service., a nice table, and the food was still extraordinary. I guess the key is reading your reviews ahead of time to know what to expect, and to write a review to let other members know what you experienced to avoid bad situations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsander722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Charleston Restaurant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and we were referred to Oak Steakhouse by the concierge at our hotel. We didn’t know it was restaurant week but tried our luck anyway, the hostess was very accommodating and got us a table. I had the Filet on the Restaurant Week menu and it was perfectly cooked, however a little salty. My boyfriend had the Flounder and it was really fresh and also cooked well. We honestly did not love our table, however the quality of the food and service from start to finish was all we could talk about at the end of the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank falconfan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Steakhouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing