We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful Weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #5 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Five friends who have known each other for about fifty years visited Annelise and Jack in their beautiful home on 15 Church Street. The home is beautiful, the hospitality is gracious and the location is perfect. I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Charleston!!! Born and raised in Charleston, Jack, and his wife Annelise are very knowledgeable and truly make the city come alive with history and suggestions for tours and restaurants. Happy hour is delightful and breakfasts are delicious with choices such as Hominy Surprise and Fluffy Virginia Pancakes. We had the most memorable and perfect weekend imaginable!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyC_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
188
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Jack and Annalise Simmons invite you into their home, and it's truly lovely. My daughter and I extend our trip so we could enjoy it a bit longer! The location is perfect - quiet and safe and surrounded by the most beautiful houses in Charleston. Jack and Annalise pointed us to great restaurants and sights. To top it all off, we enjoyed cocktail hour each evening in front of the fire. A great experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

There is no better way to anchor your Charleston vacation than staying with Jack and Annelise. This B&B is set in a wonderful part of downtown Charleston with access to everything. There is nothing better than enjoying a beer at 6pm on the porch of 15 Church St. Jack and Annelise go out of their way to make you fall in love with Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiGriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Calif.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed in Charleston for 4 days. Don't make the mistake we made - wait to go to the visitors bureau after you talk to the owners of the 15 Church Street B&B - Jack and Annalese. Their input was great. The visitors bureau go to only when you know what you want to do. Loved this B&B. I just can't say enough about it. Warm, comfortable people. Great suggestions for food (although we were not as hot on Hominy and Grits as they were). We had the best time here and they made us feel at home. Great area. Quiet. At night the streets are rolled up. We took a pedicab one night and all you could hear was the horse on the cobblestones. Easy to catch the trolly to go places. Met wonderful other guests too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

True Southern hospitality... B&B hosts Jack and Annelise Simmons could not have been more gracious, warm and helpful during our recent stay at 15 Church Street. When reading the Trip Advisor reviews before our trip, I could not believe that ALL of the reviews for this B&B and its hosts could possibly be true because everyone has an off day (I thought, surely no one can be this consistently fantastic...), but I am thrilled to report that all the glowing reports are accurate!

15 Church Street is a very comfortable and inviting B&B, with peacefulness and privacy when you want it and social time when you prefer that instead. The optional informal happy hour each night on the side porch was a great touch. You do truly feel like you are an extended family member eagerly welcomed for a visit as you sit on the back porch or the dining room and hear all the tales of their fair city from Jack and Annelise (and sometimes a friend or two!).

The location was convenient for walking to more great restaurants than you can count (ask your hosts for recommendations - they won't steer you wrong), and the view from the Rose Room onto the water was spectacular as the sun rose in the morning. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms spacious, and the whole house was very clean.

My sister and I were there for a girls' weekend away from our families and had a great time. We would highly recommend staying at 15 Church Street, and will surely do so whenever we are fortunate enough to return to this charming Southern city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Charleston is a beautiful place with outstanding architecture. This is a lovely old historic building with superb rooms. Jack & Annalise are extremely friendly & welcoming couple who were excellent hosts.
We had a wonderful time in Charlseston & would definitely like to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbudzynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed here in October 2009 (apologies for how long it has taken to write this review!). What a fantastic B&B - we have traveled around the country and this is definitely at the top. It's the personalized care that Jack and Annelise give to their guests that makes this place stand out. Great drinks and conversation in the evenings, and they really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. It's conveniently located, and they can suggest restaurants, sights etc. Thanks so much, Jack and Annelise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonneFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Property: 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-2743
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing