We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful B and B that is perfect for your first trip to Charleston!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #5 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I, along with two friends traveled to Charleston and spent a week at Annelise and Jack's beautiful home. Their B and B is located in the South of Broad area, with any number of fabulous restaurants located within a 10 to 15 min. stroll. We enjoyed a variety of choices for breakfast and each evening as wine and snacks were served, we shared adventures of the day with the other guests. Jack and Annelise had many great suggestions for what to see in the beautiful city. Special thanks to Amy and Martha for their suggestions and friendly smiles in making our stay at 15 Church St. one we will want to repeat!.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 318 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed 3 nights here and loved every minute of it. Jack and Annalise, the innkeepers, are very welcoming and warm without being intrusive. It is obvious that they enjoy sharing their home, their stories, and their wealth of knowledge about the area. Amy and Martha, their staff, are so friendly and helpful. Even Franny, the dog, made us feel right at home! We also had a great time socializing with the other guests during breakfasts and afternoon cocktails. (Hello to the gang from Minnesota!) Even though this was our first visit, we felt like we were staying with old friends because of the comfortable and cozy atmosphere. We look forward to going back to explore more of Charleston and to visit our new friends at 15 Church Street!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Jack and Annelise provide a very special experience to guests. The location couldn't be better, the house is beautiful and historic, the attention to detail is first-rate, but most the most important aspect of the experience is the hosts themsleves. Warm, friendly, knowledgeable -- and wonderfully unpretentious. The evenings sitting in the living room with the other guests and Franny (the family dog) enjoying wine, cheese, and conversation were as enjoyable as exploring the city.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keaddajeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed w/Jack and Annelise as a special treat for my 40th birthday. We had such a wonderful time, and Jack and Annelise were definitely a big part of it. They went out of their to make sure we were comfortable and had a good time, striking the perfect balance between being gracious, social hosts and respecting privacy. My husband and I lived in Charleston briefly and had lots we wanted to see and do again while we were there, yet we found ourselves arranging our days to make sure we got back to the house in time for the wine social w/the two of them. Not only were they warm and sweet, but they taught us so much about the history of Charleston; just full of information and anecdotes. Breakfasts were varied and filling, rooms were clean and beautiful (and loved that we were able to have a fire in our bedroom every night!). Both Jack and Annelise gave us great recommendations for dining, along with making our reservations for us, and even dropping us off at the restaurant if we wanted (although their house is close enough to walk to just about anything, which is very nice). We would highly recommend staying here and will do so the next time we're in Charleston- may even bring our children and stay in the Guesthouse. Don't hesitate to arrange your stay here - Jack and Annelise will really open their home to you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyhammy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

My husband and I spent a delightful December weekend at The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House and will definitely return! Jack and Annelise are interesting people who take obvious pride in their beautiful house and lovely room accommodations. We stayed in the blue room, which was VERY large, and enjoyed wine, cheese and crackers at 5 with Jack, Annelise, and the two other couples who stayed at 15 Church Street. We enjoyed talking to the other guests. The breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were very good and no one could eat as much as was offered. Annelise and Jack are wonderful raconteurs and and engaging conversationalists. They know and love Charleston and were very helpful. The inn is centrally located in the Battery, a 1/2 block from the water and an easy walk to fabulous restaurants. There's so much to do; a weekend barely scratched the surface. Jack and Annelise respect their guests privacy and are wonderful raconteurs and and engaging conversationalists when we wanted to be around the inn. They know and love Charleston and were very helpful. Thanks for a lovely weekend! Judy and Robert

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We really can't say enough good things about The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House B&B experience. The gracious southern hospitality on the part of Jack & Annelisa was above and beyond anything we had previously experienced in a B&B. We truly felt welcomed in their beautiful historic home. Their dogs were well-behaved, not intrusive, and a comforting pleasure to have around.

Before we even arrived for our four day stay, they had e-mailed us a list of recommended restaurants in the area and offered to help make reservations if we so desired. They were also more than willing to answer any questions we had about the accomodations, as well as provide information pertaining to attractions, tours, etc. We asked about tours of the city and they recommended an incredible life-long Charleston resident, Jane Thornhill, who gave us a personal tour that was a totally unique experience and not to be missed. The Gullah Tour, led by Alphonso Brown, was also a memorable and informative experience we would highly recommend.

We opted to stay in The Rose Room which was lovely and spacious. It included a fireplace and large connected bathroom. They informed us where the linen closet was if we felt we needed more towels. We stayed four nights and were very comfortable in this room. The breakfast menu was provided each evening so that one could select from a choice of delicious options. Annelisa joined us each day for breakfast and conversation in the dining room and provided us with a wealth of information about Charleston. Jack & Annelisa also offered an evening cocktail hour of wine and cheese in the living room that gave the guests the opportunity to engage in conversation if they so chose. Jack & Annelisa would also be present thus giving us a a very cozy and welcoming feeling.

Charleston is a beautiful and historic city that we plan to return to in the future. The house is ideally located in downtown Charleston very close to The Battery and is within walking proximity of many attractions, shopping, and restaurants. We hope to be able to return to the Phillips-Yates-Snowden House as it was the high-light of our trip! Thank you Jack & Annelisa for providing us with such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottatravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We just spent three wonderful nights at 15 Church Street B&B. The location was very convenient, the owners went out of their way to make you feel comfortable, providing wonderful breakfasts and delightful wine & cheese social evenings with many tales and history of Charleston. They are the 3rd generation living in the home, and were extremely handy in providing suggested sights, restaurants and tours.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HT1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $215 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Yates family constructed the present house in the early 1840’s and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for its Adam style paneling by Thomas Pinckney and ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons, his most recent addition (1998) being the basement gate at the front. The Earthquake of 1886 leveled the 4th story, which was rebuilt with a Mansard roof. Subsequent to this, the structure was reinforced with "earthquake rods", bolts running through the house between the exterior walls. Almost 100 years later, in bringing the structure up to code, this same technology was used with the addition of nine more bolts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing