We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a real B&B experience, look no further”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #6 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nj
1 review
“If you want a real B&B experience, look no further”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My wife and I were guests of Jack and Annelise Simmons in early June 2009. We had a wonderful time in every respect- relaxing with them and learning about the history of Charleston was an incredible experience, and they made every effort to have our trip be as special as possible. My wife was pregnant at the time and she said it was the best BB experience she has had. Our room (the rose room) was tasteful and comfortable, with good water pressure, Wi-Fi access in the room, cable TV, and comfortable mattress/ pillows. The location was perfect: right in the heart of downtown historic Charleston. I would highly recommend this BB to anyone who wants a true BB experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
192
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My mother and I stayed there on a whim. It was my first bed and breakfast experience. I was a bit leery and uncertain what to expect. Jack and Annelise Simmons have now set the bar so high that I doubt that other B/Bs will be able to match it.
In the short time we were there, we were able to enjoy the local Charleston flavor all because of their knowledge and passion for the area. Their suggestions were tailored to what we would enjoy and the best that the area had to offer, including meeting interesting neighbors.
Thanks for a memorable mini-vacation!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia County, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed in the carriage house, and had a great time. You couldn't ask for more gracious hosts, and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed mornings on the piazza before breakfast, meeting local friends and other guests, and drinks outside in the evenings, too. The dogs were delightful. Every restaurant our hostess recommended was superb -- don't worry about a guidebook, just ask. The house is beautiful, and the location just up from the battery was just right for exploring, and we were able to walk everywhere. Walking the cobbled streets of the old sections of the city by gaslight is unforgettable, and it's nice to go home to your very own historic home below Broad St. We are already planning the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmeima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Over the years, we've stayed at many lovely B&B's, but none of them can hold a candle to this one. It wasn't just the perfect location, amenities, and ambience. What really made our vacation was the one thing that is unique to the B&B experience -- an absolutely wonderul host and hostess -- Jack and Annelise Simmons. They welcome their guests into their home -- and it is their home first and a business second, as it should be -- and make them feel a part of the family. Thanks to them, we had a truly matchless Charleston visit. From the tour with Mrs. Jane Thornhill -- to the yummy restaurants -- to Drayton Hall and Middleton Place -- to the CSO Gospel Choir performance on the opening night of the Spoleto Festival -- each recommendation added special memories to our 8-day sojourn in the gracious South. By our second day, we were already talking about our next trip there, so we didn't push ourselves to do everything in one visit, knowing we'd be back again and again to visit our new friends, Jack and Anneslise, and their incredible city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We loved Jack and Annelise- they provided a very warm and comfortable place for us to stay while we attended our niece's wedding. The location was excellent,we walked and biked everywhere-- we really like bicycling around town on the bikes they provided at no charge, not to mention our fellow guests, the gourmet breakfasts with french press coffee, and our evening "Happy Hours". We stayed in the carriage house with our cousins--it was a little tight for four people, but is a great value for a family, especially the extra sleeping and bath space in the downstairs livingroom. When we return, we would like to stay in the Rose room

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

As lovely and comfortable as The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House is, the best things about this B & B are the owners, Jack and Annelise Simmons. They are the most interesting, gracious and knowledgeable host that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Their magnificent home has been in Jack’s family for two generations and is located in the most beautiful section of Charleston just steps away from a historic waterfront.
Annelise was kind enough to make our dinner reservations for us to four unbelievable restaurants. We were absolutely delighted with every one of them. Both Jack and Annelise KNOW and LOVE Charleston so well they were able to suggest numerous museums, forts and tours including the incredible Gullah Tour with Alphonso Brown. Every night we looked forward to our social hour on the porch. It’s a time to share your Charleston experiences and more with Jack and Annelise and other quests. We are grateful to Jack and Annelise for sharing their beautiful home and their southern traditions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We spent three wonderful days in Charleston for an anniversary trip and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The B&B is in the heart of the historic district on a narrow, quiet street just steps away from the Battery. It's a short walk (fifteen minutes tops) to the Market area and to Waterfront Park, so we seldom had need for our car. Jack and Annalise were gracious hosts, brimming with southern hospitality, and made us feel like friends instead of guests. We loved visiting with them and drinking wine during the social hour on their beautiful, breezy veranda. We stayed in the Cypress Room, a big, comfortable room with a king bed and a private entrance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Property: 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-2743
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing