We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Charleston”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #8 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We loved the situation of this historic 'bed and breakfast' in Charleston, South Carolina. It was very central for the riverside and also for the sights and shops of the city. It was a lovely area in which to walk with amazing architecture and history. A great location.
The house itself felt very historic and the owners and hosts, Jack and Annaleise, went out of their way to make you feel welcome and advise you on where to visit. Unfortunately, our room, the Blue Room, was situated on the top floor (4 storey house, no lift) and our luggage presented a small problem for us. Given that we were at the start of a three week transatlantic holiday we were not travelling lightly! The house was quirky due to its age and our bedroom floor ran off at a noticeable angle. My bed appeared to do so too! However not enough to cause a real problem and is one of the memories of our holiday. We found the bedroom basic though and while clean there was no luxury or comfort there.
Would recommend the house for it's location, history and attentive hosts but two nights was long enough.

Room Tip: Seek a room on a lower floor especially if you are unfit, older or have an infirmity. We were also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skyebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackandAnnelise, Owner at The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Being of Scottish heritage and wearing the Fraser tartan we always love our eccentric Scottish guests! A quirky room for a quirky guest! We are only sorry that she did not read all of our descriptions regarding the rooms on the top floor outlining that there is no elevator and that it is wise to pack in two small bags. Many of our international guests who choose these rooms leave their luggage at ground level and just unpack what they would use for a two day stay. When this guest booked the room in February 2012 the ground floor Cypress room was available and could have been chosen instead. Our home is vintage 1840 and has weathered well through a major earthquake as well as multiple hurricanes. There are porch or roof exits from all rooms in case of an emergency. This is our home and we offer our guests the same luxury that we offer ourselves: warmth, comfort, genuine hospitality. Jack & Annelise Simmons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 325 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived very late and very tired on our first night because our train was delayed. Jack took care of us, gave us something to eat and drink and sent us to bed after a few instructions about the place and breakfast. So quiet, beds soooo comfy, we slept like logs every night. Annelise, Jack and Martha were fab hosts. We met their son and his family who were very warm and social, too. Felt like part of the family. We had only booked for two nights but after the first night asked if we could stay two more. So glad we did. My girls loved the place, the family, Martha, Bella the dog and Drifter the cat, who they took for walks. Jack found out my younger daughter was interested in medicine and organised a visit for her at the College of Charleston. Other things: restaurant and tourist attraction recommendations were spot-on and did I mention we slept like logs every night? Want to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing time in Charleston complete with a real bed and breakfast experience. Jack and Annelise were the perfect hosts. We staying in the Cypress Room which was very cozy. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Their home is beautiful and is in walking distance to most attractions. The house was very clean. All of the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. Jack and Annelise treated us as family. When they advertise that "most innkeepers provide a room; we provide an experience", it is so true. We had to stay at another B&B our first night in Charleston because they did not have a room available until the next day. That was just a room. Jack and Annelise provided an experience. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great experience to feel the city a little bit as a resident. The couple Jack and Annelise were hospitable and worried about all! In each detail we feel that! The mood was a warm family home with caring and delicious breakfast. The room we stayed was the cipress room, very confortable, rustic decoration, huge bed and huge space in the room. The bathtub and the shower also is very good and confortable.The house is near from the historic neighborhood, main streets, best bars and restaurants, we went to almost all places walking and that way you are going to see the most beautiful houses you never seen before.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaPaulaPSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

After reading several reviews on trip advisor my husband and I along with two old friends decided to stay at Jack and Annelise's beautiful home. Their B&B. is located on a quiet residential street in the historical district. Upon arriving jack warmly greeted us and parked our car in his driveway where it stayed for most of our stay, as you can walk to just about everything from their location. We stayed in the lovely Rose room which was Jack's boyhood room. The room was large, clean and tastefully decorated with a distant view of the harbor. Along with a beautiful bathroom that was equipped with everything you could possibly need our bed faced a working fireplace. Also provided in our room were Duraflame logs, iron, ironing board and a tv. All the comfort of home in a beautiful setting. You could not ask for two more warm and friendly hosts. Jack and Annelise made us feel like old friends. We enjoyed the evening social hour with the two of them and Martha their house manager. They held these social hours on their piazza and living room and served very good French wine along with delicious cheese and crackers. We were able to learn about their charming city as well as tips on what to do and where to eat. Their home was beautifully decorated for the holidays along with a towering Christmas tree which their friendly and well behaved lab, Franny, liked to lay under. Each night during the social hour Annelise had us fill out a breakfast menu for the following morning. We were able to choose the time as well as what we wanted to eat. There were many choices and everything was delicious. I personally enjoyed the Hominy Surprise and the Crustless Frittata. Other choices were numerous: bacon, scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. Plenty of good healthy food to get you off for a day of exploration. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dinning room where you could also meet the other guests. Leanne who served us our breakfast was very friendly and helpful. After spending three nights with Jack, Annelise, Leanne, Martha, Franny and Drifter the cat we felt like we were part of their family. My husband and I have done a good deal of traveling, and I would have to say this was one of the best places we have stayed thanks to our wonderful hosts and the charming city of Charleston.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband, brother and I stayed in the carriage house. It was one of the most comfortable places we have ever stayed. Jack and Annelise Simmons were the most gracious hosts and we felt like family. We are looking forward to our next visit to Charleston just so we can visit with them during breakfast and happy hour. They offered the best suggestions for tours and restaurants, which really added to our total enjoyment of this trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everyone at 15 Church Street was wonderfully welcoming. The room had its own fireplace that we used a few nights when it was cold. It was very clean, and the location couldn't have been better. It's right in the historic district, a stone's throw from the battery, down a quiet brick lane. Just an amazing time, with lovely people. The evening happy hour was a highlight. We were welcomed like family, and there was lovely wine and little snacks to eat. Nice breakfast too!

Room Tip: The Rose room, where we stayed, has a lovely view right out the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,990 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
161 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#3 of 39 in Charleston
498 reviews
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-2743 (Formerly 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $215 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Yates family constructed the present house in the early 1840’s and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for its Adam style paneling by Thomas Pinckney and ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons, his most recent addition (1998) being the basement gate at the front. The Earthquake of 1886 leveled the 4th story, which was rebuilt with a Mansard roof. Subsequent to this, the structure was reinforced with "earthquake rods", bolts running through the house between the exterior walls. Almost 100 years later, in bringing the structure up to code, this same technology was used with the addition of nine more bolts. (Rates: $225.00-325.00) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing