We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Charleston
See available hotels
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
John Rutledge House Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lodge Alley Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
313
23
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
23
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch streetsocial hourrose roomwonderful hostsb bother guestsjack annelisecarriage housebed and breakfasteach eveningchildhood homecocktail hourhistoric neighborhooddinner reservationsliving roomlovely homeprivate bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 341 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Two old friends and I found more than we had expected at 15 Church Street this week. We booked the Carriage House with its private sitting room so we could visit late into the night, but the gas fireplace made the evenings even more special. We knew Jack and Annelise hosted a daily wine and cheese social hour, but their Southern hospitality lured us away from early dinner plans. We were not expecting a gourmet breakfast buffet, so we were pleased with the tasty, simple morning offerings prepared for each of us personally. (My early rising friend did have to ask for coffee before the breakfast hour, so a coffee maker in the Carriage House kitchen would be convenient.) Factor in the perfect location as mentioned in other reviews, and the recommendations from Jack and Annelise for exploring and dining, and we truly had a home away from home, complete with the resident dog Franny and cat Drifter! We can't wait until our next visit with the Simmons!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Jack and Annelise are just wonderful BnB hosts. They provide tips and advice during your stay and are very accommodating. There may not be a better place to stay in historic Charleston than 15 Church street for the price, location, ambiance, etc...

Room Tip: room is located on third floor. Not for seniors who have troubles with stairs/steps.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boilermaker_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed multiple times and 15 Church, a period home "South of Broad" with all the charm of Charleston, is an ideal location with fantastic hosts. You will not need a car to explore great restaurants, museums, art galleries or any of the activities offered in this historic city.

Room Tip: 6pm share wine with hosts
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at 15 Church St (Rose room). Annelise and Jack were great hosts - social hour on the porch for all the guests, suggestions for restaurants and activities, providing history of the house and neighborhood. It felt like we were staying with family. Rose room is large and comfortable, with a nice view of the river and neighborhood. Good breakfast with several choices available. Beautiful house in a perfect Charleston neighborhood. Within walking distance of many sights or the trolley for places farther up. Off street parking is available but can be congested if you need to use your car during your stay (not a necessity with this location). We hope to return soon and expect to see Fran and Drifter waiting for us! Thanks, Jack and Annelise, for a great trip!

Room Tip: Rose room and Blue room are on the 3rd floor - be prepared to carry luggage up. Also they can get warm, although there is auxiliary cooling available.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbmc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hosts were welcoming, provided a nice introduction to Charleston with pointers on things and places to check out. Afternoon porch drinks were great, as was the room and breakfast. Location second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews