We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Charleston”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #5 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at 15 Church St (Rose room). Annelise and Jack were great hosts - social hour on the porch for all the guests, suggestions for restaurants and activities, providing history of the house and neighborhood. It felt like we were staying with family. Rose room is large and comfortable, with a nice view of the river and neighborhood. Good breakfast with several choices available. Beautiful house in a perfect Charleston neighborhood. Within walking distance of many sights or the trolley for places farther up. Off street parking is available but can be congested if you need to use your car during your stay (not a necessity with this location). We hope to return soon and expect to see Fran and Drifter waiting for us! Thanks, Jack and Annelise, for a great trip!

Room Tip: Rose room and Blue room are on the 3rd floor - be prepared to carry luggage up. Also they can get w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbmc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hosts were welcoming, provided a nice introduction to Charleston with pointers on things and places to check out. Afternoon porch drinks were great, as was the room and breakfast. Location second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Annalise and Jack Simmons give a warm Charleston welcome to all of their guests! If you have never stayed in a B and B before, this place is the reason you really should reconsider. If you are a regular B and B user, then 15 Church St will become your favorite!

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights the beginning of September. It is located in the heart of Old Charleston and is steeped in history. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed, including quiet. Each evening before dinner, all guests would gather in the living room for snacks and a beer or glass of wine. We learned from each other, as well as our hosts, about experiences in the city. What I found is that it made us want to get downstairs the next morning to continue the chatting over breakfast. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. It offers far more than accomodation!

Our hosts were attentive and supportive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my anniversary and annual vacation. Jack and Annelise welcomed us like long lost family. Stayed for the whole week and enjoyed being included in the afternoon social hours along with their visiting family. Had a great view of the Cooper river from our Rose room. Great proximity to the Battery and the Calhoun Mansion. Will most definitely be back to the 15 Church st B and b

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clncrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Most tourists visit Charleston to see the beautiful old streets and buildings. And what makes those streets and buildings unique are the number of beautiful "Single Houses" like 15 Church Street. A Single House is a house type found only in Charleston and almost always built in a beautiful Classical style. If you don't know what a Single House is, stay at 15 Church Street and Jack and Annaliese will explain it to you, perhaps over a Planter's Punch.

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer the rooms in the house to the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My stay at 15 Church Street was highly enjoyable and I look forward to returning. The house is gorgeous and well maintained, and in a great location. The house borders one of Charleston most impressive homes, the Calhoun Mansion, the largest home in Charleston. You can reach almost anything interesting in Charleston from this house. 15 Church Street sets itself apart from other hotels through it effort at having the guests get to know each other. The social hour and sitting together at breakfast was a great way to relax and enjoy a vacation.

Room Tip: The carriage house is great. Rooms on the top floor have an extra AC unit for especially hot days th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We frequent B&B's often when traveling. 15 Church Street is now by far one of my very favorites.

The location is superb, located in the historic district on a quaint cobblestone lane. It's a 2-5 minute walk to the water and just under 15 minute walk the Straw Market section of the city.

The homeowners were out of town the weekend we stayed, but Martha, the house manager, was a gracious hostess overflowing with Southern charm.

The rooms (both guest room and common rooms) were beautifully appointed. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and all the comforts of home were provided.

We shared stories of each days adventures with other guests and Martha, all of whom were eager to help one another find the fun, local restaurant, attractions to visit and beautiful walks to take.

Drifter, the resident orange cat, turned me into a cat person. I have never met a cat with so much personality. He is a wonderful addition to the entire experience.

The Simmons were very gracious during booking and corresponding prior to the trip. We look forward to meeting them on our next trip!

Truly a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlanticBeachBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $215 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Yates family constructed the present house in the early 1840’s and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for its Adam style paneling by Thomas Pinckney and ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons, his most recent addition (1998) being the basement gate at the front. The Earthquake of 1886 leveled the 4th story, which was rebuilt with a Mansard roof. Subsequent to this, the structure was reinforced with "earthquake rods", bolts running through the house between the exterior walls. Almost 100 years later, in bringing the structure up to code, this same technology was used with the addition of nine more bolts. (Rates: $225.00-325.00) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing