We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is very good and the place is fun”
Review of Nick's Bar-B-Q

Nick's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #60 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Food is very good and the place is fun”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We read about this place on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a shot. The concept is different, where you go in, order at the counter then sit down and they bring the food. Food came out very fast. All was fresh and hot. Price was more than fair for BBQ. Wasn't the best, but wasn't bad either. The staff were all very, very friendly and fun folks. That lifted my score from a 3.5. They make this place. The ambiance also is fun, it looks like it might have been an old pub or restaurant.

We went with pulled pork, mac n cheese side, fries, a salad and the cheese rolls. You can't go wrong with the cheese rolls which are a combination of corn bread and cheese. Amazing. Meat was tender and juicy and just the right temperature. Not dry and tough to chew. Two sauce choices so make sure which you get -one is very spicy. Mac and cheese is pretty good, I've eaten a lot of this and am a tough critic. Salad was fresh, crisp, came with plenty of cheese, egg, bacon, and was filling.

If you want a fun place to eat, that is going to fill up the family or will be fun with friends, this is it. You could easily feed 4 people for $40 or under and if they leave hungry, it's their fault. This is worth a try. I'd probably eat here again. I went during an off time at 2:30 but I can see where this place like a lot of places in Charleston could easily get packed. There are a lot of seats here, but if its crowded, you know its good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    249
    68
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once and only once !”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Restaurant was clean and nice atmosphere , Staff was courteous , how ever the food was not up to expectations! We ordered spinach dip and it was strange tasting compared too many other restaurants , it had a sweet flavor to it , not what we expected at all, we could have lived with that , but the baby back ribs we ordered were tough and we sent them back , the server said we should change to spare ribs , they were brought out by a manager ? He never introduced himself, he said they were experimenting with the cooking temperatures and some of the ribs were coming out tough, he said they were not going for fall off the bone tender , but somewhere in between ,?????
Why would you not want fall off the bone tender? We ate the slightly better spare ribs to find out they got tougher as we went we were not impressed and we will not be back. If your hanging your hat as a barbecue restaurant , you should have that down pat ,not experimenting !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great potato!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent potato with pulled pork on top! One of my favorites in Charleston to eat lunch. Service was great and food was up to par!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autumnwhitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best BBQ! Tuesday margarita special $3”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped in twice while visiting Charleston. First had the smoked chicken wings.. Most delicious herbs rubbed all over and the chicken itself was perfect.
Went back on Tuesday- taco and margarita special. Catfish tacos were fantastic. Margaritas were made to order, yummy, and $3!
A great experience talking to the cook and bartender. Value and quality of the food couldn't be better. Great location and building.
I wish they were closer to home.. I will surely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannabelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food was excellent”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What an excellent meal. This is not a table service restaurant nor is it fine dining but it was delicious BBQ. You place your order and your food is then brought to you. The cheddar biscuits were hot and melt in your mouth. The pulled chicken and baked potato was a huge portion, and delicious. The prices are reasonable, and the food was hot and tasty. A total surprise. Both the kids and adults in our party loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing