We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable pulled pork and ribs at convenient price”
Review of Nick's Bar-B-Q

Nick's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #57 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“enjoyable pulled pork and ribs at convenient price”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

you are looking for a authentic BBQ experience in Charleston downtown this is the place. We ordered pulled pork and BBQ ribs, and the choice was great. The dishes arrived just 5 min. later, and we really appreciate that. The Cole slaw was amazing, one of the best I had in the South.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    248
    68
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cheese muffins”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Like the bbque especially the chicken and like the chicken strips as well but the best aprt is the cheese cornbread muffins.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncarolinafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ and sides”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Well, it was special enough eating outdoors in December. But the meat here is true BBQ. You can smell the smokers from way over at the outlet mall. I've eaten here twice, and I can tell you that this is the real deal. It's about the slow cooking and the meat itself. The sauces are good, don't get me wrong. But without them the meat is still delicious. There's a wide choice of classic sides. I went with the beans, and they were great. Service has always been attentive and friendly. When you have a place in the South, you'd better have servers with Southern Hospitality, and they do here. The chef even stopped by to check on me this last visit. Although I haven't ever been able to partake, since I always dine here on my way to work, I can see that they have a diverse drink menu. If you are at the outlet mall, give this place a shot. The best meal in the area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aviatrix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The corn muffins are great and the siblets were huge. The bbq sauce was very wet but to my understanding this is the style in the south. Decent food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place for BBQ'D in downtown Charleston!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I've had better BBQ, but not much. I've had better value and been in arguably a better atmosphere. But this place is much more than adequate for both and has next to, if not the best service I've had at a low-key BBQ place like this. Great cheese biskets, and my wife who does not eat pork or beef is quite happy here with their excellent chicken and turkey options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing