We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hawthorn Hotel, Charleston SC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hawthorn Hotel, Charleston SC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a family reunion. The front desk was rude on the phone as if we were bothering them. Several other family members staying said they had to get someone to clean their room. When we did get the house cleaner to finish up cleaning, she made the bed like a 5 year old. Do better Hawthorn hire people who know how to make beds!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caramel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    212
    168
    120
    94
See reviews for
403
203
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

It's not easy traveling as a family of 6 but this hotel fit the bill. Spent 3 days in Charleston and since we spent most of the time in the city we had no complaints about the space. The breakfast hit the spot, everyone slept comfortably and the staff was very courteous. We were also close to the beaches and downtown which helped with gas. Will definitely book again if we ever go back to Charleston.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I can not say anything about this location personally, however, when I ran a search on stay, park and cruise packages a Trip Advisor Review "“Park and Stay while Cruising from Charleston” Reviewed August 14, 2011" came up. After calling the hotel I was notified this was not true. According to their front desk representative on 6/27 at 0945 you can't leave your vehicle on the property while you cruise, even if you are staying with them before and after, they will tow your vehicle. Not an issue with the property, just a warning to those looking to stay, cruise, and stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

These rooms are TINY! There was no room to open the sofa bed and keep the coffee table in the room. It would have been a fire hazard at best. Furnishings were cheap and flimsy. the shower control was very loose and difficult to control. Although the people were pleasant, the service was horrendous. The sofa bed was broken when we tried to open it in the evening. I was told, upon report the issue, that I couldn't possibly be correct because "all the broken ones were replaced two weeks ago." I know a broken bed when I see one. Ultimately we were able to secure a different room, but I discovered at least a dozen sofa beds stored in the stairwell on the Highway 17 side of the building (in open storage rooms).

Avoid the hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at some other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Address: 2455 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29414-5323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Charleston Hotel Charleston
Hawthorn Suites Charleston
Charleston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing