We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a bad hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Ranked #52 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked into this hotel before our cruise out of Charleston to the Bahamas. We decided to stay a few nights in Charleston to visit and get a taste of the historic areas. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. The breakfast was good, hot with eggs, bacon, waffles and other hot breakfast items. The hotel is convenient to many stores and restaurants which is good as well. I used the workout room a few times while there and had no issues and we used the indoor pool which was good too. We only had a few issues while there. One, there was a giant spider in room under the coffee packages in the room. That freaked my wife and daughters out. And secondly, there was no shower curtain in the bathroom. I called the desk attendant for a shower curtain and he brought one up. We chose this hotel because they do a shuttle down the the port for cruises, but I found out they are no longer doing that. If they brought back the shuttle service, I would stay here again upon returning to Charleston.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor. It seems like the hotel fills up a lot so you would like to be on top of most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    206
    161
    112
    79
See reviews for
381
189
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

At check in they charged my card did not tell me and put a hold on it for a total of $490.00 the total price for our stay was only 245.00 they charged me for part of my moms room and gave me some crazy explanation, my mom paid for her room on her card,the desk manager said sorry but i cant do anything about this it will be released at check out. There was not another manager on duty period for you to talk to. Carpets in room need replacing BAD.chairs and sofa need cleaning phone in room not working, air not working called down to desk no maintenance on duty. desk staff could not leave to come up to room. hotel very low class need to be shut down and one more thing free breakfast horrible they cook the bacon in the microwave and its not done, grits runny, eggs processed and nasty i would rather go pay for a good breakfast

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The beds were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good, although the scrambled eggs were rubbery. The pool water temperature was perfect, but the water needed to be balanced or cleaned or something, it had a green hue to it. The hotel is pretty convenient to everything we wanted to get to. The staff was very nice. I enjoyed thw suite aspect. It was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CStarSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The bed was too hard and most of the gym equipment was broken. Also, the snacks during happy hour were disappointing (mostly potato chips). However, the staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Cherisse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Decent night's sleep and a good breakfast, but that's about all I can say. The staff were very friendly and, to be fair, I didn't report the problems I had with the suite because I was very jetlagged and needed to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Address: 2455 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29414-5323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Charleston Hotel Charleston
Hawthorn Suites Charleston
Charleston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing