We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative, artistic and sophisticated....”
Review of Tristan Restaurant - CLOSED

Tristan Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church Street
Description: Located in the heart of historic Charleston, Tristan is a place where the ingredients are simple and the cuisine will take your taste buds for an unexpected ride. Executive Chef Nate Whiting presents diners with inspired twists on traditional ingredients – something that The Post & Courier calls “[Making] the simple, sublime.” A Mobile AAA Four Diamond Restaurant, Tristan has over 400 labels in our extensive wine cellar. From special occasions to simple celebrations, Tristan invites you to come and experience fine dining at its very best.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Innovative, artistic and sophisticated....”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Innovative, artistic and sophisticated sum up the dining experience at Tristan. Unlike so many dining establishments in Charleston this one is quiet and tucked away in the French Quarter Inn. Truly a special place for a special occasion. Service is impeccable with a waiter for every dinner so each coarse can be served at the same time to everyone at the table. When one in our party inquired about gluten free offerings on the menu, the staff went out of their way to provide surprise gluten free options so they wouldn't feel left out of the dining experience - gluten free dinner roll, a surprise intermezzo and a special end of meal sweet treat. Food was delicious and so beautifully presented on the plate that it looked like a work of art. If you are looking for a dining experience like no other, then Tristan is for you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonKnox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    39
    18
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went because we had a discount because of the hotel where we stayed, but it was wonderful. The fish entrees were great and the thai-basil lemongrass sorbet float was the most amazing dessert!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chef's menu is amazing!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I really enjoyed our the waitstaff explained all the components and cooking style for each dish. Excellent attention to detail, wonderful service and delicious food!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaleighReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great ambiance for couples.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Four of us ate at Tristan after arriving in Charleston exhausted since the restaurant was in the same building as our hotel.

We dressed for dinner since the restaurant seemed more formal than most. The ambiance was lovely and relaxing. Waitstaff was attentive yet not "in your face."

I ordered a few appetizers as my meal. The beet salad was fresh and tasty. The gnocchi was flavorful although salty. Portions were small although I didn't mind. I would rather have one small, delicious serving than unlimited mediocre food.

The chef tried much too hard wih the desserts, which we did not enjoy. Example: "Soft Valrhona Carmelia," which was "Yuzu Pate de Fruit, Green Tea Crunch, Tangerine Marmalade." How about a plain old creme brulee?

Expensive but enjoyable.

In Charleston, however, there are many wonderful restaurants and in retrospect we probably would not have chosen Tristan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aydenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A culinary experience with southern charm”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Probably one of the best scallop meals I'd ever had. The service was fantastic. However many people were on staff, I believe all of them waited on us. If my water glass was 2 oz low, they were there to fill it. They made some great drinks as well. I started out with the salad which included a great chevre. While we could have ordered from the tasting menu, the group of 6 of us decided to go ala carte. Most of us had the scallops. My colleague had the salmon and said it was one of the best ever. We were brought palate cleansers between each course. For dessert, two colleagues split a smoked chocolate ice cream shaped like a sausage. The rest of us shared another gelato dessert. The portions are neither small nor huge. There weren't many people there and it was nice to be able to have a conversation without background noise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daveflstc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tristan Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Daniel Island, Charleston
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing