We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Street Biergarten

Bay Street Biergarten
Reserve with OpenTable
Bay Street Biergarten is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food & fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Live entertainment, beer (including pulls at tables!), food & great waiter/barkeep - what more should I say? Go - you will not be disappointed and you will ask when they open the next day. Hint: go early - long wait can be frustrating - but outside seating is very inviting. They do take reservations too. Had best Reuben & tots (appetizer) and REALLY BIG BEER SELECTION.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandSeacrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    29
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really fun place! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a really fun and interesting concept! From the outside seating area, the pour your own taps, friendly atmosphere, and great food, this place was a great time. The place had live music and the seats stayed full the entire time. The only down fall was the lack of parking due to the historical nature of the location prevents expansion. If anyone is under the influence that this would be like a true Bavarian Biergarten is foolish. I will definitely return to this place to continue the destruction o my liver!

Helpful?
Thank abrnrgr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Sports Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I watched the playoff games last weekend at Biergarten. The atmosphere was fun and the place was PACKED but we were able to get a 2-top table that had been reserved but had been made available. Our waitress was pleasant and the beer selection was HUGE. We tried the fried dill pickles which were tasty as well as the crazy fries with smoked Gouda that were very good too. Not much in the way of German-faire but we enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the German?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Food and German beer selection extremely lacking. Had schnitzel, and quite possibly plainest / blandest meal I have had. Service was friendly, beer is much cheaper it order from waitstaff vs pouring your own.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad Service! Not a Biergarten”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We came to this restaurant on my birthday. Upon arriving we were told their open tables are for more than 5 people, we were only 3 people! She offered to sit us at the bar. I explained that we preferred a table since it was my birthday and she rudely said well then you'll have to wait. We waited for over 40 minutes while waitresses asked the hostess why she wasn't seating us at one of the many open tables. The manager pass us several times and said nothing! We finally grew tired of waiting, and two other patrons told us....leave now it's not worth the wait, food is terrible. We took their advice and left. If you want service and to be actually seated, go somewhere else in Charleston. This place only wants your business if you have 5 or more in your party. In addition, this restaurant appeared to be dirty and had a foul odor. I

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Street Biergarten also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bay Street Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing