We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge

Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.50*
and up
Charleston Harbor of History Tour
Ranked #2 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a beautiful view from this bridge, with a wonderful pedestrian area for walking or jogging. We were just in awe of how beautiful the bridge itself was and ofcourse the view of the harbor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hei2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,432
    735
    170
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Memorable bike ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I rode my bike around the battery then up East Bay towards the bridge. The bike/walking lane is clearly marked and really wide. I thought it was exhilarating to ride across this bridge...it didn't even feel that long or steep! It felt mostly safe because there is a tall metal fence on the edge and you're protected by a ~3ft tall concrete barrier between you and traffic. However, I'm a weenie and got a little freaked out by traffic coming at 60mph towards me when I returned to town.

I highly recommend this experience if you'd like to get some exercise!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank COadmAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleview
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very pretty bridge to view, for someone that is healthy I would think it would be a great bridge to walk/run, we see many people everyday crossing by foot or bike, it has 10 ft width for those crossing by foot/bike. If I was a healthy man it would be tempting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkofBelleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A true Charleston landmark, this bridge is part of the city sky line. The best place to view it is probably from the water. It's worth taking time to get up close to this structure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AggieMom0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This beautiful bridge is hard to miss in downtown Charleston. But the best time to see it is after dark. Make plans to spend time on one of the roof-top bars and enjoy the view!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanatotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing