We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“RIDING COUNTS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge

Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Book In Advance
$25.44*
and up
Charleston Harbor of History Tour
Ranked #3 of 224 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whittlesea, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“RIDING COUNTS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

You can walk it! You can jog it! You can sneak up there at night and spray paint your proposal onto the zillion tons of concrete. AND DRIVING COUNTS. That's right. I've never walked it, run it, or spray painted a hint of graffiti on it but I have ridden over it from the Charleston side and the Mt. Pleasant side in and out of rush hour traffic and dull Sunday mornings. It's still THE sight in Charleston. When I go over each time I think of my son-in-law Lt Dan suspended on a rescue rope over the side of the bridge rescuing some nutter gone missing from THE bridge. Whatever your story when you cross the Ravenel Bridge you've been there, done that, and deserve the T-shirt. Just do it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,281
    695
    162
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ummm... this is A BRIDGE!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm not really sure why I am writing this review - it's just a bridge connecting Charleston to Mount Pleasant. HAHA - Where is the "mountain" and it's not all that "pleasant" over there! Now, I have to explain my sarcasm... my husband drives over this darned thing twice most every day. Once to work and the second time coming home. Sure, this is a pretty thing to look at from downtown Charleston but it's nothing spectacular. As fast as people drive and especially when they combine talking on their phones and/or texting when they are driving, there is no way on God's green earth that I would walk or ride a bike on this structure. I don't care how beautiful the views might be! I've seen lots of beautiful bridges all over the United States and some in other countries. This one is pretty but unless you are participating in the bridge run, I'd stay off of it. Remember, that's just IMHO.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great view, neat construction. Walking paths as well as drive over. Not sure what else to say...it's a bridge - a nice one. lOL

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank winter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This bridge has got to be one of the most (if not the most) beautiful in the country. It has a walking/bike trail (3 miles I believe) and is great for all ages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shari246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wow factor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

terrific view of Charleston, the river and ocean going into and leaving Charleston. the new bridge with cables is now three lanes and provides views of mount pleasant also. you will also see the aircraft carrier and cruse lines docking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank crock28459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing