We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very bad experience. My husband and I came to experience Southern hospitality and this place will not give it to you. Everything is rundown making it very unpleasant. The amount they charge to stay in this place is ridiculously expensive. The condition of this place is more like an hourly motel. Do not stay here. They give a terrible name to the concept of a bed and breakfast that it makes me hesitant to stay in another.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 173 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Palmer Pinkney Inn eight times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each occasion. The Inn's central location renders all of downtown a stroll away. After so many visits we've had the opportunity to sample all of the rooms and have always found them to be clean, cozy and comfortable. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and professional.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgetteandcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint little inn located in an ok location. There is no typical B and B breakfast here...coffee, bagels, yogurt. Evidently they have a sister inn where you can go have breakfast. I prefer to have my breakfast where I stay. Parking is really located across the street and the charge is $12.00. There is a very tiny tiny parking area in the back but you need a small car to fit. Getting out of there is difficult once you are in. I unfortunately stayed in a room on the street side. I b was wide awake at 4:50am when the trash truck picked up the trash and 10 minutes later another trash truck came. Then 10 minutes later what sounded like a street cleanerror came through. I gave up and was up st 5:15 am. I cannot tell you the number of trucks that came by before 9 am. The room was nice but the negatives far outweigh any quaintness. Would not recommend this one. It is also located between two horse stables and the stench of horse urine is pretty potent outside. You cannot snell it inside... just don't open a window. Sadly I would never return to this B and B and I love bed and breakfast inns. I'd rate this between a two and two 1/2.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My best friend and I stayed in the Bombay Room (two nights, three days), which was a perfect little space for us take a break from the heat and relax. Our room was clean and spacious, our hostess was helpful and welcoming, and the breakfast options were great before heading out for a sweltering trek around the city. Fabulous price considering the ideal location and amenities!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Palmer's Pinckney Inn was a tight squeeze, but a great location for walking. The room was beautifully done, the hostess was great. You got a real feel for a "Charleston" style house on a small scale. The kitchen while small was very welcoming. Clean, comfortable and cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Charleston room whilst holidaying here. Lovely large quaint and comfortable room. Easy walking distance to all of the sights, restaurants etc. Staff are very friendly and let you feel at home and even provide you with a glass of wine to have on the verandah in the evening! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamandMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Charleston room and were very pleased by the quality of the furnishings, the comfort of the bed and quiet location within the Inn though the Inn itself was quiet.
The Inn is within a comfortable and easy walking distance to the heart of the shopping district. We enjoyed the southern breakfast at the sister property (Palmer House #5 East Bay). Dawn and Terri (Innkeepers) were pleasant and friendly. Parking on site can be a challenge and it's first come first serve which was no big deal to us for we stayed on foot for 2 days.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the Charleston Room. I'm sure the others are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Indigo Inn
#15 of 62 in Charleston
1,045 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,959 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Meeting Street Inn
#5 of 39 in Charleston
825 reviews
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 39 in Charleston
224 reviews
Cannonboro Inn
#15 of 39 in Charleston
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer's Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Address: 19 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $141 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer's Pinckney Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in the heart of downtown Charleston! Convenient for walking to shopping and dining spots. Pet friendly in 3 of our rooms! 4 rooms with kings size beds and working fireplaces. All private baths, 2 rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Access to kitchen, continental breakfast, refreshments available. Plus, homemade muffins, cookies and other goodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Palmer's Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer`s Pinckney Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing