We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shrimp 'n' grits, great view”

Fleet Landing Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleet Landing Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Transit: The Downtown Area Shuttle Waterfront loop runs from Waterfront Park (half a block away from the restaurant) to the Aquarium and the visitor's center every 40 minutes from 9:20-6:00.
Description: Fleet Landing is historic downtown's Best Waterfront Dining featuring classic & contemporary Southern seafood fare, regional favorites, burgers, salads & more. Enjoy waterfront views from the wrap-around deck and maritime chic dining room. Reservations recommended, full bar, parking, family friendly.
Memphis, TN
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best shrimp 'n' grits, great view”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'd highly recommend making at least one stop at Fleet Landing while in Charleston. The food was excellent, service friendly and we had a great view of the harbor even though we were seated in the middle of the restaurant. We had a great time for lunch. The shrimp 'n' grits were the best I had of several versions I had while spending a week in Charleston.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jl2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,155
    1,504
    445
    98
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Some other travelers recommended this place. We had a wonderful lunch - the shrimp and grits were the best I had in Charleston. It's located in a renovated former Navy building on the water. The service was friendly, and the prices pretty moderate. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch on the waterfront.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had lunch at Fleet Landing on a very busy afternoon. We had a drink while we waited outside on the front porch. Once seated we were quickly waited on and told about the menu and specials. Drinks were quick and our order was taken. My wife had the wedge salad and peel and eat shrimp. The salad was typical and changes were allowed. The shrimp were served cold and were very good. Nice spicing and good cocktail sauce. My son and I both had the fried shrimp dinner. Lightly battered and fried nicely. The fries were good but the slaw lacked taste. It was bland and needed more seasoning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went to Fleet for an early dinner of sorts. I had the she crab soup and fried green tomato stack layered with crab. Both were excellent. I also had the Firefly sweet tea vodka with lemonade. Yum! By the time I left the line was out the door. Busy place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainey1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seafood Restaurant on the Water!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love being able to have seafood at a restaurant with a view of the water. The seafood was wonderful and the services was great. It's a terrific dining experience. It is just one block from the main market area in the historical district. Only the locals must know about this place because we did not see any advertising. We heard about it from the lady at the front desk of our hotel because it is her favorite place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HurricaneEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleet Landing Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fleet Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing