We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Coastal Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Coastal Expeditions' mission is to take people to beautiful places to experience meaningful things by kayak, SUP, canoe and powerboat. Founded in 1992, Coastal Expeditions is the original outfitter in Charleston, South Carolina and is a family business with a team of exceptional, big-hearted guides. Saltwater and blackwater tours and rentals are available year round from several wildlife-laden spots, including 4 private on-water outposts at Folly, Shem Creek, Isle of Palms and the Bulls Island Ferry.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife surprised me with a half day kayak trip on Folly Creek through Coastal Expeditions on our 1 year anniversary. It was my wife's first time in a kayak and we both thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The weather was great and the water was calm and relaxing. We were treated to see some wildlife like dolphins and many birds including an Oystercatcher. Our guide Cameron made our time on the water that much more enjoyable. He was fun, informative, and very knowledgeable. I wouldn't hesitate to book a trip with them again.

1  Thank CreepingFig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We love that y'all spent part of your anniversary with Coastal Expeditions! Cameron was one of our favorite guides (he's moved on to work for Habitat for Humanity!) and we're glad that the tour was enjoyable.

People often ask what the difference is between a tour and a rental, and basically when you have a good local guide, you see things you've never noticed before. It can really give you a richer experience on the water.

Thanks for the review!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,002 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rented kayaks from Coastal Expeditions on Folly Beach Road. Had a wonderful time. Went with husband and daughter, 1 solo kayak, 1 tandem kayak 4 hours $86.00. The staff could not have been more helpful. Provided a dry bag ( we put our cell phone in the dry bag), kayak's paddles, life vests and a map of the area. Told us where to go to see dolphins and how far we could get in our 4 hours. We saw lots of dolphins which was REALLY fun. I would recomend this for anyone that can paddle a kayak.

Thank FrodoPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Kayaking on Folly Creek is gorgeous...and when dolphins make an appearance, it's magical. We're so glad that you chose to rent kayaks from us and that you had a good experience.

We hope you'll come visit again!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The boat ride to and from the island was amazing and the Captin and First Mate were very informative and pleasant. Seeing the alligators in Alligator Alley was fantastic! Boneyard Beach is a must-see! The shelling is amazing at the Boneyard. But, BRING LOTS of BUGSPRAY! Deep Woods Off only excited the mosquitos! On the way to Alligator Alley and then to the Beach we survived. But on the way back to the pier we ran for our lives from the Mosquitos. They aren't too bad as long as you have on lots of bug spray. I would advise one very strong can of bug spray per 2 people. Also bring plenty of water! At least 2 bottles per person. I would highly recommend the expedition to Bulls Island. The shells are unbelievable, and a camera is a must for the Boneyard and Wildlife. Definatly worth it!

2  Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Bulls Island Ferry! We totally agree-- this adventure is much more enjoyable when you're prepared. Bulls Island is within a National Wildlife Refuge, and it's definitely wilderness! We're working on an FAQ now that makes sure everyone knows to bring bug spray & water. We appreciate you sharing your experience!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great educational experience thanks to the staff on the boat ride over to Bull's Island and the return. Learned about the barrier islands and the ecosystem and various fish/bird/wildlife. We braved the heat and reported mosquitoes to venture into Alligator Alley and then on to Boneyard Beach, despite the warning it would be a long trek. We had our 18 year old and 13 yo sons and even with our 7 year old daughter with us, it wasn't too long and it was well worth it. Spotted alligators up close and unguarded, was stunned at the beauty of Boneyard Beach. We took the 9 a.m. ferry and left the island with the 4 p.m. ferry. The noon return was too early...however, the 4 p.m. one was a little too late for us. A 2 p.m. pick-up would have been perfect.

2  Thank Jeanette_in_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks for writing about your trip to Bulls Island! We always love to hear that families with kids had a great time on the island.

We understand that the 4 p.m. pick up can sometimes be a little long. As part of our federal contract with U.S. Fisn & Wildlife, we have to stick to the schedule that's posted. Bulls Island is SPECTACULAR in the winter months (fun to hike, no bugs, abundance of birds) and the trip is a little shorter (10 a.m.- 3 p.m.). Maybe we'll see you for one of these off-season trips!

Thanks for the review!

Kari Crolley
Coastal Expeditions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went with another experienced kayaking couple and did 3 tours with Coastal.Our guides Gates and Heidi were absolutely terrific. First paddle to Morris lighthouse got us through the lowlands where we paddled with dolphins for some part of the trip. Reached the lighthouse and stayed a while for lunch and paddled back through ever changing tides. Second paddle from Shem Creek and into the harbor was very easy and we got close up to many types of birds as well as the dolphins eating the leftovers from the shrimp boats. Last paddle was into the the river about 1 hour from Charleston. Got to see a few birds and some gators in and along the river. Lazy slow paddle and doable for almost everyone. If you are in Charleston area look up these people and take at least 1 tour

Thank osborncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

We love that you did three distinct trips throughout the Lowcountry! Being on the water like that really lets you get into a rhythm with the creeks/estuaries and your group.

Gates and Heidi are really good guides (and fun to be around!) and we're glad that you chose us for your Charleston adventure!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Expeditions also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coastal Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing