We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great market”
Review of Charleston Market

Charleston Market
Ranked #78 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
192 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A great market”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Charleston Market has a great variety of products, some of which (the intricately woven baskets, for instance) are unique to the low country. It's a fun place to browse and and if you want to buy local art and crafts a good place to shop. There is also a very good take-away coffee bar.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    281
    182
    22
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
williamsburg
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went through every day to see what I could find new. Cruise ship days are the best for variety. Sundays!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More Interested in History of Market than Actually Shopping”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The history of this market is fascinating and is worth learning abut. The actual market itself as far as merchandise goes is not all that desirable. The air conditioning was a nice break from the 90 degree weather outside. I did enjoy talking with (and eventually purchasing from) a local guy who had a soap business. Other than his shop, nothing caught my interest. Most of it is your average, post card, overpriced print of various Charleston landmarks, or cheesy Christmas ornament.

A quick 15 minute walk through was enough for me and my boyfriend. My boyfriend did have a steak wrap from Caviar & Bananas and he gobbled it up. Other than that, not much to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank delupowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Touristy, but fun for a once through.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Charleston Market is good for a once through mostly because of the interesting building and the historical significance. There are a large number of vendors selling the same old tourist stuff you see in the stores or cheap imported knick-knacks. There don't seem to be many high end craftsmen or artists here other than the many makers of sweet grass baskets which carry a tourist price tag. There is food to eat, but no food or produce sold like in an actual 'working market'.
This appears made for tourists and as such loses some of it's authenticity...although the bathrooms are better than any market I've ever been in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Diversity”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I love the number of vendors and the different items available. They have public restrooms, which is a huge plus when downtown with small children. I always find something to help me put together low country gift baskets for friends and family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Market also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing