We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun! Have plenty of time and plenty of $$”
Review of Charleston Market

Charleston Market
Ranked #84 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
West Liberty, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of fun! Have plenty of time and plenty of $$”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first stop right after our morning carriage ride. We arrived around 10:30 and it was PACKED...on a Wednesday morning! Booths are full of everything from; jewelry, crafts, hand woven sweetgrass baskets, cookies, shoes, the list goes ON and ON! My wife had a broken foot during our visit and had to use a "knee caddy" cart. Although everything was handicap accessible the crowds and cramped quarters did make it difficult for her to navigate through certain areas. My daughters (ages 4 and 6) LOVED it! They had no trouble spending their allowances. I was hoping for more food/fruit/veggie vendors, but really it is NOT that kind of market. There were several food vendors (permanent shops) and one gentleman selling fruit but that was it. Seems like the farmer's market on Saturdays is the place to be if you are looking for that sort of thing. Everyone was extremely nice and welcoming and willing to answer questions. I would say give yourself at least an hour and a half to walk from one end to the next (if not more).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    293
    186
    24
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My 'Happy' Place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Touring the Charleston Market should be on everyone's top 3 items to mark off on bucket list.
The market HAS changed (modernized) over the years but regardless of the changes; one always is left feeling lIke they are walking through History itself.
We love to saunter down the rows of vendors, enter into & browse the more formal shops, & encounter lively chats with the sellers themselves.
It is so cool still seeing locals weaving the Seagrass Baskets; better still bringing some home with you.
There is a precious man who has been in the market forEVER & he prepares fresh Shea Butter directly from Africa. We stock up every time we visit & enjoy speaking with him & exchanging information.
This is also an awesome market to buy a piece of history rom in the form of corn grits or rice. Is most recent trip I purchased a large silver Grits Spoon & it's become a family treasure.
Walking the buildings you sense time as it was In Generations past, you feel your body begin to relax & you catch yourself frequently smiling and laughing.
When a treasured piece of downtown Charleston can evoke that type of emotion you should plan to haunt it each time you come to town.
I have also purchased 2 sided slave/baby dolls there that have a fascinating history dating to civil war toys children loved the most. History, strolling, shopping~ and fresh Air make this place memorable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Khmergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in the new changes!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The old market was the best, and now they have modernized most the outside market and made it inside, with air conditioning, expensive shops with not so nice tennants. It takes away from the open air and the friendly merchants that are working so hard to keep the tradition. Bad choice Charleston!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Interesting outdoor market”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our first day in the city we stumbled upon the outdoor market on our way to the carriage rides. It has a lot of unique items from the local artisan. A lot of seagrass baskets! Different local treats all through the market!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tinkonthego0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice assortment of stores and eateries”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Reminds of Fanueil Hall in Boston with rows of eateries and stores. I especially liked watching the locals make the sweetgrass baskets

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FromLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Market also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing