We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service - long wait for food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #143 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible service - long wait for food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was there for lunch on Sat July 6. Arrived at 11;15, promptly seated and orders taken within 5 minutes. At this time there were maybe 5 other tables seated in the restaurant. However, it took 45 minutes to get our food, while individuals who came in after us were seated and served their food. Asked to speak to manager but none ever came. Received a lame excuse from the server that the kitchen was backed up. Backed up at 11:15/11;30 for 5 tables? Absolutely no service. If you have hours to kill, this may be the place to go, but if you don't AVOID this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wipedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    294
    207
    95
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I made a 2nd visit to Bubba Gumps on my vacation to Charleston in June. I had the shrimp macaroni & cheese. It was fabulous :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ate lunch at the outside bar at Bubba Gumps. The She Crab soup was AMAZING, and the bartender was friendly. I definitely recommend eating here during your stay!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Def.do over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the Forrest Gump platter. Shrimp fish and chips w/seafood hushpups. Awesome. Eric was a awesome bartender. All the employees were smiling and sounded so polite. Bathrooms clean.
If your on a low budget not the place to go, but def. worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleAndEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The worse experience in Charleston!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived at this restaurant after walking forever and was told our wait would be 35 minutes. We walked around the area a bit with our pager and checked back in and still had to wait. We decided since it was too hot and started to rain to check out their store and after the store we went inside the restaurant and waited. There were numerous empty tables so we were wondering why we were still waiting. A party of four just walked in and sat down at an empty table ahead of everyone who had been waiting forever. The hostess inside the restaurant started seating people after many of us complained about empty tables. We finally sat down after waiting an hour and after placing our orders our waitress came back and said their grill was broken and we had to place an order for food that did not have to be cooked on their grill. We were outraged. My husband asked for a manager who never came and finally as we were walking out already on the street she came after us and asked what she can do. We told her what she could do is let the person handling the reservations know she should have let us know when we put our name in that the grill was broke. She apologized. We walked to TBONZ down the road and had a great meal. The restaurant was clean the service was excellent and the food was amazing and it was cheaper. By the way the prices were high at Bubba Gump and the restaurant was dirty and the place was so disorganized we realized things happen for a reason and we ended up getting a much better deal/meal at TBONZ

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsalpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing