We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp Po' Boy”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #154 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
WILMINGTON
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Shrimp Po' Boy”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A visit to Bubba Gump's for a shrimp po boy is a must when we visit Charleston. So many large shrimp, they fall out of the sandwich. The bread is fresh and not overly sauced. The outdoor seating is relaxed and service prompt. We like the idea of the license plate signally you want service. A fun lunch spot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    325
    234
    108
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Loved this restaurant, even though it is a chain. Lots of delicious entrees to choose from. Coconut shrimp was delicious. We ate our dinner at the bar to avoid waiting for a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not a fan of seafood but..”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I ordered the clam chowder and strawberry, pear, blue berry salad. It was great. Also ordered a drink and got to keep the glass !!. It was a pricey lunch well more than I usually spend on my lunch but it was worth it. The staff is great, friendly and prompt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationer374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a sprise”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

fun lunch with good food. great with kids. nice to look around. this is for a fast lunch no suprises just a good time with good staff

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what I expected - not great experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ate here because of Forest's name. We were litterally the third table with people when we went in and left. Food was average - you are paying for the name. Suggest finding a different local named place. They don;t take reservations, should have seen that coming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imagesofwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing