We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Restaurant & Grill

Athens Restaurant & Grill
Ranked #358 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: James Island
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of my "go to" places when wanting a casual place to eat with friends. The food is fantastic with good Greek selections. There is a nice patio and the service is great. The ambience is OK, the place is not too noisy so it's a great place to be when you want to be able to talk and hear your friends and not spend a lot of money. The wine list is spotty and that would be my only complaint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbur970019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta Ga
Level Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Really glad we happened upon this place. Very nice atmosphere, great food at really fantastic prices. You'll be greeted at the door and seated by the owner, Vasilios. Try the 4 course dinner Mon.-Thur. for only $16.00!!! You'll leave with a doggy bag even if you're a big eater with a big appetite like me. I was with someone who lived in Greece for 3 years and she said the food was indistinguishable from anything across the pond. Their house greek salad dressing was really great but sadly they wouldn't share the ingredients.
Don;t forget the dessert. Baklava and something else I can't pronounce (let alone spell) was akin to what we get once a year at our city's annual Greek festival.
Great food at really reasonable prices....we will return next time we're in the area. Restaurant is actually on James Island on Maybank road. Very short drive from downtown Charleston.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good value with a Greek flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a favorite fallback for us when we are undecided as to where we want to go. The food is tasty, and the prices are not particularly high. I am not sure how much has been sacrificed in authenticity in order to satisfy most palates, but the genre is obviously Greek. If one is looking for a different style of food, without risking upsetting or surprising your guests, this would be an excellent choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
698 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Just fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years as we like Greek food. I tried the Egg plant with spaghetti dish which was excellent and very tasty. The stuffed chicken was fair as was the Gyro which was mediocre. I would skip the Gyro at this restaurant. The service was very good. Atmosphere is acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great pita”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had the best chicken pita here. The pita bread had to have been made earlier that morning. It was awesome. They grilled the pita bread slightly and the chicken was nicely grilled too. The others in my party had pizza, which looked ok. They said it wasn't spectacular like our pitas. The Greek salads looked pretty good too. We had the whole place to ourselves so the service was good. I'd go back for another pita for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RATCHELL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Restaurant & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Athens Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing