We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My all time Charleston favorite for 8 years in a row!”
Review of Al Di La

Al Di La
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Di La is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #217 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 17
Description: Al Di La is a neighborhood restaurant serving simple, delicious Northern Italian fare made with fresh, local ingredients.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My all time Charleston favorite for 8 years in a row!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ate here last Thursday on our way to our rental in Kiawah, SC for the weekend. This place is outstanding, with a great neighboorhood vibe, home made everything! Fresh seasonal menus....I was fortunate enough to catch them on a day they were serving aspagus risotto with scallops! A house specialty that will become your favorite!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceJunkie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    62
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had mussels and they were great! The place even smells great. Very good dining experience!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESCFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The food here is so fresh and good. It is impossible not to have a fabulous time here. Love the ambiance, great staff and the food!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HD333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still and an amazing place in West Ashely”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The menu is smaller than i remember, however, OMGosh is it amazing. I am pointing out the menu because another reviewer felt it is nothing great. Well have you ever made Gnocchi? It is freaking hard and if you do spend all that time, it then just never turns out the way you remember you Grandma's or your fav Italian place. They had a filet for 19 dollars. Are you kidding? It costs that much in the grocery. The pasta was a specialty with bacon and peas. I am sure you can ask for a basic bowl of pasta they have the ingredients and restaurants do this all the time. We were in for a quick bite. Had some wine, very reasonable on the prices. Also the Bruschetta which came with a salad. All very fresh and so tasty. You can tell the difference between a chain and a small kitchen. Al Di La is like a little place right off the streets in Milan. We also had the Piccolo Plate which is antipasta that raises the bar. The bread was a toasted version of the bread they put on the table and the cheeses had truffle oil and and a raspberry couli. The meats were salami. All very thin but palate pleasing. They serve bread, slice thin with touch of herbs. It is such a nice touch to have it thin and fresh instead of a hunk with butter. Outdoors they grow rosemary and you can smell it when the wind blows. The service very good. Our hoste wonderful when I told her we were not there for the whole dinner just drinks before a baseball game, she assisted with a table in the bar area. Our server was quick and ordering was seemless. He had several tables and still was able to get us in an out in less than 20 minutes. Maybe a small attitude, but he had a lot going on, so maybe he was tired. However he was on top of his section. Bartenders were quick and helpful. Really if you are complaining about this place, go to franchise or the other Italian restaurants and check out their prices. Although very good too, their prices are 30-40 percent higher and you can't eat outside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdomsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Italian”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Consistently wonderful Italian food with fresh and local ingredients

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munrodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Di La also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Al Di La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing