We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just okay, probably won't go back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Goat Food & Drink

The Green Goat Food & Drink
Ranked #196 of 894 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“just okay, probably won't go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

much larger than it appears from outside.
waitress (Kelsie sp?) was good...more to come.
beer was served nice and cold.
fried green tomatoes were just ok, we have had better.
fried calamari was decent, they need to serve this with a different dipping sauce.
dining companion had the spinach salad with shrimp. fairly small portion served in a metal mixing bowl. the shrimp (blackened) were good.
i had the "special" surf and turf. steak had good flavor and was cooked fairly well. there was something about the texture that was a bit "off". the shrimp served with the meal were shrimpy shrimp. we had seen larger in shrimp cocktails. decent flavored sauce served with the S&T. the best part of my meal was the "potato pancake". i also opted for the rice and gravy side...should have ordered something else.
sorry i cannot remember what our guests ordered, but they also said it was "okay".
with so many dining options in charleston, i think GG needs to step up their game.
i do appreciate the farm to table aspect.
service was very good. but, back to Kelsie... our check came to the table. we observed that we were charged for an extra "adult beverage" that we did not order. we flagged Kelsie down to inform her of the error. her reply was "yeah, i saw that" WTH?! if you saw it, why didn't you fix the bill prior to bringing it to my table. shame. she then took the bill back and fixed it properly. again stating that she did see the overcharge on the bill...sorry, but i don't get it. just apologize for the error, fix the bill, and hush! do not dig yourself a bigger hole.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpit70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it :) ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place might look like a hole in the wall. And in a deserted shopping center, but the atmosphere was great. The food was awesome. The staff was excellent. Best bar food I've ever eaten. I will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stopped in for a late lunch on a Wednesday. Our server was very friendly and our meals were great. Dessert sounded awesome and we will be going back to try it out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dopeonarope82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Strip Mall Bar, but not bar food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Pulling up, you need to know the food is worth the try. Came here with some friends to have a bite to eat and a few drinks.
Tried the hot dogs covered with chili, jalapeños, onions and pimento cheese. Got one grilled and one fried hot dog...never had a hot dog fried before and have to say grilled is a lot better.
Newcastle Mac n cheese is really good, along with the potato chips.
My wife had a the BFGT sandwich which she really liked.
Overall, scenery makes you not want the food, but in the end very tasty and would be happy to come back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coffey070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Bad Service! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Went in for dinner on a Friday night! The server greeted us and asked for our drinks after about 3 mins. She was not very personable. Not only did she not introduce herself or give any kind of introduction, but she also didn't tell us about any of their dinner specials (which we saw as we were walking out). We ordered two beers and the fried green tomatoes for an appetizer. For dinner we ordered the chicken sandwich topped with chow chow and the Newcastle mac&cheese for the side. We also ordered the seafood combo with blackened shrimp and fried oysters, the mashed potatoes and collards. After taking our order, the server walked away and we didn't see her again until she picked up the plate after we had finished the entire appetizer. The app was dropped off by the bus boy, who then came by about 5 mins later to tell us that they were out of Mac& cheese. The fried green tomatoes were good. When we got our food, the server also got us some extra sauces and then we didn't see her again until we asked for the check. Both of our waters were empty and we had finished our beers. I had to ask another server if she would please refill my water. The food was mediocre at best. I feel that half of the dining experience depends on the service. In this experience, the service definitely had a negative effect on my overall feelings of the restaurant and the food. Unimpressed!

Helpful?
3 Thank ChasSCssteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Goat Food & Drink also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Green Goat Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing